September 2013: A Month in Review

September has come to an end, and so it’s time for my Month-in-Review post.

September was a productive month for blogging.  I reviewed a total of 9 books, 3 of which counted toward the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril challenge.  I also welcomed Brandon Engel for a Guest Post on H.P. Lovecraft.

For at least the next few days, I will have a lot more time for reading and blogging than anticipated.  As someone whose job is contingent on federal funding, I’m out of work for the duration of the shutdown.  Hopefully it doesn’t last very long.  I’m trying to count my blessings and use the spare time well, but it’s a stressful and annoying situation to be caught in.IMG_0792

Of course, I have the following new books to keep me busy:

  • “The Ocean at the End of the Lane” by Neil Gaiman – I won this in a giveaway at The Blog of Litwits.  I’ve heard lots of good things about it, and you can’t go wrong with Neil Gaiman.
  • “Burial Rites” by Hannah Kent – This is a review copy of a book about an Icelandic murderess awaiting execution in the 1800s.  It’s either going to be amazing or horribly depressing.  I’m putting my bets on amazing.
  • “The Color of Light” by Helen Maryles Shankman – Part of a TLC Book Tour.  The books is about vampires, Nazis, and art, which seem like a winning combination.

I’m hoping while furloughed to make a serious dent in my TBR pile, as well as to start catching up on reviews.  I’ve got a queue of about ten books that I’ve read recently but not written about yet, and now seems like an opportune time to work on them.

What are your October reading plans?  Have you gotten any new and exciting books lately?

Categories: Month in Review, Other | Tags: , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “September 2013: A Month in Review

  1. Furloughed too. Trying to get back going on my Guardian challenge. Have finished one Trollope and hope to knock off a few more things before we go back. Good luck.

  2. Hope you enjoy the Gaiman. I really liked it so will look forward to reading what you think.
    Lynn 😀

    • I’m looking forward to it. I’ve enjoyed pretty much everything I’ve read by him thus far.

  3. Sorry you’re caught up in the government shutdown. Hope it’s resolved soon….In the meantime, enjoy your reading.

  4. Anton/Ellie

    Burial Rites is both really good and depressing: it is well-told, but everyone in it is cold/starving/dying in some terrible way. It’s also a fictional account of real historical events (the last execution in Iceland), which is quite interesting.

    • Glad you enjoyed it! It sounds intriguing, even though I don’t normally like depressing books. I’m excited to read it.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

