New Acquisitions – 8/13/3

IMG_0714
Review Copies:

  • iD by Madeline Ashby – A story about robots and the human condition.  I posted a review of vN a little over a month ago and adored it.  The publishers offered me a copy of the sequel.  I finished reading this one already, and hope to post about it soon.
  • Choose Your Weapon by Sarah Rodriguez Pratt – I’ve been reading Sarah’s blog That’s a Girl’s Car for several years now.  She recently wrote a young adult novel about a teenager who visits a fantasy world and fights dragons.  I’m super excited to read it.
  • I Am Venus by Barbara Mujica – Historical fiction about Diego Velazquez told from the perspective of one of his nude models.  I’m reading it as part of a TLC Book Tour.
  • The Harvesting by Melanie Karsak – A woman living in DC returns home to her hometown in rural Pennsylvania only to find herself in the middle of the zombie apocalypse.   Based on the blurbs, the protagonist’s life seems very similar to my own (minus the zombies, of course).

Purchased:

  • Palimpset by Catherynne Valente – Cat Valente also wrote Deathless, which happens to be my favorite book of all time.  However, most bookstores only carry The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making.  I’m always on the lookout for the books she writes for grown-ups, and when I found this one, I couldn’t pass it up.  It’s about a hidden world that marks its visitors forever.

Book Exchanges:

  • Possession by A.S. Byatt – This one’s been on my radar for a while now.  It’s a Booker Prize winner and widely regarded, and it seems like something I might like.
  • The Stainless Steel Rat by Harry Harrison – This is the book that Carl from Stainless Steel Droppings named his blog after.  I got super excited when I found it, in all its pulpy vintage glory.
Categories: Fiction | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “New Acquisitions – 8/13/3

  1. Have you read Possession yet? Byatt’s been hovering around the edges of my radar too – I just need that push to commit. 🙂

    • I haven’t. The only thing I’ve read by her is Ragnarok, and I was blown away by it. I’m hoping this one’s even half as good.

  2. I really must read Deathless. I’ve fancied picking up a copy for a while.
    Perhaps I should wait for your review! Ah, a cunning plan!!!
    Lynn 😀

    • Deathless is super super super good, and if you ever get a chance, you should read it. It’s marvelous. Once I read it, I had a hard time with other books for weeks because nothing could compare. 🙂

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

