New Acquisitions – 7/21/13

Before I get into the new books that I’ve recently acquired, I have some news.  I’m done with grad school!  I’ve been working on my Masters in library science for about three years now, so it feels good to be done.  And now, back to the books…

IMG_0644

Won in Giveaways:

“Generation V” by M.L. Brennan – Clearly about a vampire (well, part-vampire).  It looks like a fun read.

“River of Dust” by Virginia Pye – Missionaries in China struggle to find their child, who was kidnapped by Mongol bandits.

“Tankborn” and “Awakening” by Kate Sandler – I won these in a givewaway sponsored by Lee & Low Books, a publisher that focuses on multiculturalism and racial diversity in children’s fiction.  These two are young adult sci-fi about genetically engineered humans in a society with a rigid caste system.

Gifts:

“Cousin Kate” by Georgette Heyer – My mother gave me this one when I was visiting Pennsylvania for a family wedding a couple weeks ago.  I have a bad track record with romance novels, but she said I might like this one.

“Push Not the River” by James Conroyd Martin – Historical fiction set in Poland in the 1700s.  I’m super excited to read this one.  There’s a story behind how I got it, too.  When I’m done reading a book and I know someone who might enjoy it, I tend to pass it on.  I loaned my mother my signed copy of The Mirrored World, which she enjoyed.  In a cleaning spree, it accidentally ended up in a box of books to go to a yard sale at the church.  After the yard sale, she was reading my blog and realized what happened to the book.  She called me in a panic saying she’d try to track it down.  After a couple phone calls (my hometown only has 2500 people, so this can happen!), she discovered that one of the people working at the yard sale started reading it during a slow period of the day.  She loved it so much that when she returned it, she also passed on “Push Not the River” because it seemed like something I’d enjoy.

Review Copies:

“The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic” by Emily Croy Barker – A grad student walks through a portal to another world, which is beautiful but not without danger.

“Necessary Errors” by Caleb Crain – Set in post-communist Prague.  Need I say more?

There’s also one more review copy that I left out of the photo by mistake.  It’s called “The Never List” by Koethi Zan, and it’s about a kidnapping/torture victim who embarks on a quest to find proof that her kidnapper is guilty of murder so that he is not released on parole.  It’s way darker than what I normally like to read, but the author is in town tomorrow for an event at a local bookstore, so I decided to give it a shot.  I’ll be posting a proper review of it within the next few days.

Have you gotten any new books recently?  Any exciting reading plans?

Categories: Fiction | Tags: | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “New Acquisitions – 7/21/13

  1. The bottom book sounds/looks interesting, the Baker novel!

  2. Congrats on finishing. has it started to sink in yet or do you still have panic attacks when you are relaxing thinking there must be something you need to do. I still have nightmares about missing a final and I finished school years ago.

    • It hasn’t sunk in yet, but then again, I still have nightmares periodically that I showed up for high school and forgot my school uniform, so there’s that. It’s nice not having to balance full time work with grad school anymore. 🙂

      • I always wanted to wear a school uniform. I can’t match colors at all and I thought it would relieve stress. My parents disagreed.

        • I liked wearing mine because I’m not the most coherent person before I’ve had my coffee, so I liked not having to think about what I was going to wear. 🙂

  3. Lari

    Congrats on receiving your MLS. I sure any library would be lucky to have you as a librarian!

  4. Congrats at finishing grad school, you must feel amazing 🙂
    The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic sounds interesting, I’m looking forward to seeing what you think of it.

    • Thanks! It’s good to be done. 🙂

      I’m very curious about The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic. I’ve seen it compared to Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell and A Discovery of Witches (which are two books that are not at all alike aside from genre), so it’ll be interesting to see how it turns out.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

