New Acquisitions – 6/19/13

IMG_0626Time for this week’s New Acquisitions!

From the library:

“The Red Plague Affair” by Lilith Saintcrow – Book two in the steampunk/mystery adventures of Bannon & Clare.  I read The Iron Wyrm Affair last year and adored it.

From Amazon:

“The Color of Rain” by Cori McCarthy – I was talking with a friend about books one day at happy hour, and she mentioned that her coworker’s sister was writing a book.  It’s YA/New Adult space opera about a prostitute, which sounded intriguing.  (As Ask the DM: Answers to Life, the Universe and Roleplaying has noted, apparently I read and/or enjoy a lot of books with prostitutes as protagonists.  I still maintain that this is purely coincidental.)

Review Copies:

“The Lemon Orchard” by Luanne Rice – This is a love story about an upper-class woman who falls in love with her Mexican gardener, putting a human face on the issue of illegal immigration.

The next three books on my list are from the publishers over at Angry Robot.  They’re moving offices and found a bunch of ARCs that they needed to get rid of quickly.  I requested three, all of which I’ve been wanting to read for quite some time.

“vN” by Madeline Ashby – I’ve been meaning to read this one ever since reading a glowing review by Andrea at The Little Red Reviewer.  I’ve had it in my hands at a bookstore no less than five times now before having a cheap attack and putting it back, rationalizing that I should read the books that I have on my shelves before buying lots of shiny new ones.

“Morlock Night” by K.W. Jeter – A steampunk classic that imagines Morlocks running amok in Victorian England.

“The Great Game” by Lavie Tidhar – I’ve been following the author’s blog without having read any of his books, and it’s time to change that.  This is actually the third book in a steampunk trilogy about aliens invading an alternate Victorian society, but each book in the series has a self-contained plot, and the Goodreads reviews say that I should be able to understand it without having read the others.

Categories: Fiction | Tags: , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “New Acquisitions – 6/19/13

  1. MA: I’m honour-bound to mention my partner David Nickle, here, and say that I really enjoyed his latest, Rasputin’s Bastards. (Which I did. It’s a big crazy Russian psychic spy thriller that utterly refuses to play dumb for anybody.) I also just finished reading Charlie Stross’ latest, Neptune’s Brood, which will be out next year, and I can say that it’s the most intellectual swashbuckler I’ve read in a long time, the sort of adventure novel that makes you feel a lot smarter for having read it. Non-fiction-wise, I’ve not been doing a lot of reading of books; I have a subscription to The Walrus and The New Yorker that take care of those needs, and I research specific things in more depth if I’m called to.

  2. Love the sound of The Lemon Orchard, books about immigration always interest me.

    • Mhm. It’s a such highly politicized issue that people sometimes lose sight of the fact that its real people’s lives being affected.

  3. I haven’t read much steampunk, but I think I could get into it. Morlock Night sounds pretty good.

    • I almost bought it last year, but at the time I hadn’t read “the time machine” so decided to hold off. Now that I’ve read Wells, the premise sounds even better. 🙂

  4. I’ve had vN since Christmas, a book that landed on my wishlist because of the same review by Andrea. A recent review from another blog friend had me aching to move it up the list. But his review of the sequel, iD, had me cringing and wanting to hold off. I may just end up reading this first one as a stand alone.

    • I’m very excited to read it. 🙂

      Sequels in general can be hit or miss, and some books do make better standalones. I’m kind of scared to read the Dune sequels because I’m afraid they won’t be as wonderful as the first one.

      • The sequel is NOT an easy read. it’s unputdownable, but not easy. Writing quality, plot, and pacing is better than the first one. but the darker bits are much heavier too.

  5. Brooke

    “The Lemon Orchard” sounds interesting. I’ll have to add that one to the never-ending list of books I want to read. Unless, of course, you determine it’s a complete waste of time.

    • I will let you know, and if it’s good, I can share it. It looks like a pretty quick read. 🙂

  6. Yay for vN! and I can’t tell you how I know, but the 2nd book in the series, iD, is even BETTER.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

