Armchair BEA Day #3 – Giveaways and Literature

TBR ShrineIt’s already day number three of Armchair BEA.  Time flies when you’re having fun!

Today’s Instagram Challenge is “Your TBR Pile.”  My TBR pile is extremely large, so I just picked a few selections and put them on a table.  With a candle.  Okay, I made a TBR shrine.

The next order of business is giveaways.  I currently have two giveaways open, both of which are being sponsored by the publishers.  Both giveaways already have their own posts, so follow the links!

*edit* – Both giveaways are U.S. only.

The first giveaway is “Glow” by Jessica Maria Tuccelli.  The book is about six generations of a family living in the American South, each of whose lives are impacted by racism.  There is also a ghost.  The winner will be pulled from a hat on May 31.

The second giveaway is “Shadow of Night” by Deborah Harkness, the sequel to “A Discovery of Witches.”  It’s about a witch and a vampire who fall in love after discovering a mysterious old manuscript, and involves time travel.  The winner will be pulled from a hat on June 8.

And now, onward to today’s genre discussion… literary fiction!

I’m very picky about general fiction.  I don’t tend to read books that are set in today’s society, because I already live here and don’t need to spend more time in the present.  I try to avoid stories that are horribly depressing, because there are enough depressing things in real life.  At the same time, I don’t want my books to be completely escapist.  I want them to challenge the way that I think about the world and to immerse me in different cultures and time periods.

Even though the main focus of my blog is SF/F, I do occasionally review literary fiction.  Some of my favorites (in no particular order) have included:

1.  “Glow” by Jessica Maria Tuccelli – See above.

2.  “The House of the Spirits” by Isabel Allende – Allende tells the story of a revolution in a South American country and how it impacts a family.  Her characters are vibrant, and her world contains just a hint of magic.

3.  “The Mirrored World” by Debra Dean – The story of the Russian saint Xenia, as told from the perspective of her cousin.  The novel explores the line between holiness and madness.

4.  “The Secret Life of Bees” by Sue Monk Kidd – Set around the time of the Civil Rights Act, a young girl runs away from her abusive father and learns a valuable lesson about race and family.  Some of the characters in this novel remind me of my aunts, who are wonderful and crazy all at the same time.

5.  “Bless Me, Ultima” by Rudolfo Anaya – A coming of age story involving generational conflict and magic, and featuring a blend of Catholic and folk beliefs.

What are your favorite literary fiction novels?

Categories: Fiction | 33 Comments

Post navigation

33 thoughts on “Armchair BEA Day #3 – Giveaways and Literature

  1. Pingback: Arm Chair BEA Day #6 – Wrap-Up & Other Updates | Books Without Any Pictures

  2. I am going to “The House of the Spirits” by Isabel Allende to my TBR list.

  3. BookAttict

    The Great Lenore by J.M. Tohline.

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  4. “Definitely Houses of Spirits” since I just finished Discovery of Witches!!

    Cabin Goddess’ Armchair BEA post for Day 3

  5. I haven’t read anything you mentioned but they all sound really interesting! More for my TBR list! The Mirrored World sounds really good!

  6. LOVED The Secret Life of Bees.

  7. monica

    I keep meaning to read The Secret Lives of Bees – it sounds amazing. And your TBR pile/shrine is fabulous!

  8. I loved The Secret Life of Bees.

  9. Thanks for the chance for the giveaway, they are new books to me. I’m your friendly ABEA cheerleader for tonight! I like literary fiction and see which books won my Thanks for Changing My Life Awards on my ABEA post today. Hope you are enjoying yourself and look forward to chatting with you again soon. Keep up the good work!

  10. YES. The House of the Spirits is an amazing book! I included it on my list for today, too. I think it’s really one of my top books of all time.

    Love the tbr shrine pic! If I put all the books on my tbr in a pile, it would be impossibly tall.

  11. I absolutely love Allende’s House of the Spirits. I actually wrote about it yesterday!

  12. I heartily recommend Fire and Twelve from your TBR. I enjoyed both – and Twelve is historical/russian/supernatural – win/win/win!
    I’ve read The House of Spirits and The Secret Life of Bees and enjoyed both – did you read The Help??
    Lynn:D

    • I haven’t read “The Help,” but I do have it on my Kindle, so I’m hoping to read it eventually.

      I feel bad about not having read “The Twelve” yet. The publisher sent me a copy right before I ended up taking a break from blogging, and it looks like the kind of book that I would adore. I’ll probably end up starting it this weekend. 🙂

  13. I really love the shrine, too, and recognize some of those titles on my own TBR list! Happy reading from an English teacher to a librarian! =)

  14. I liked The Mirrored World as well, something out of my usual genre of reading.

    http://www.ManOfLaBook.com

  15. The House of the Spirits is also one of my favorites. I think I could have made a list of about 200 books, but felt overwhelmed!
    Kerri @ Turn the Page Reviews
    http://turnthepagereviews.com

  16. I also loved The House of the Spirits.

    My favorite literary fiction selections would be:
    Beloved by Morrison
    The Age of Innocence by Wharton
    The God of Small Things by Roy
    Persuasion by Austen
    To Kill a Mockingbird by Lee

  17. Oh, I heard of Secret Life of Bees. Your TBR shrine is awesome! I’m more of a person who wants to read more historical fiction books, while still reading contemporary.

  18. My literary fiction choices tend to lean toward the weird/postmodern. I made some recommendations on my blog today, but one I left off was a favorite by Siri Hustvedt called What I Loved. Part rumination on art and psychology, part murder mystery. It’s a great book.

  19. Looooove the shrine.

  20. I try not to think too much about my enormous TBR!

  21. How very apropos it is to have a TBR shrine! I loved The House of the Spirits by Allende, I have enjoyed other books by her as well.

    Here’s my Literary Fiction post.

  22. I love the shrine! My TBR pile scares me. It might topple over on me and I’ll never move again.

  23. I’ve always wanted to try an Allende book, I might start with House of the Spirits.

  24. I agree with you; THE SECRET LIFE OF BEES is an all-time favorite!

  25. All of your selections look interesting, though I haven’t read any of them! And your TRB pile?! Drool! Really!

    Fahima @ I Read, Ergo I Write

  26. What a neat pile your TBR stack makes. I’m too embarrassed to share my tumble….

  27. :O How very different we are when choosing what to read…

    I always always and forever have preferred reading books that are set either in the present or the future. But I’m more partial to the present ones.
    I’ve never been a fan of historical novels, books, or anything of the likes. Not even the classics could make me want to read… And I like reading a somewhat dark novel from time to time. Specially ones with happy endings, since I read to escape my reality.

    Anyways.
    I actually stopped by because of the name you leave on the linky thing on Armchair BEA central heheeh which is kind of funnily and somewhat a kind of opposite from mine 😀
    BooksWithoutPics hehehe

    And mine is BookPics haha.

    Oh boy. Anyway. Nice to meet you!!!
    Alba @ BookPics

  28. Mine would be Hopeless and Slammed by Colleen Hoover!

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

