General Update on Life, the Universe, and Everything

One of several bookshelves, arranged in the style of Tetris, or perhaps Jenga.

One of several bookshelves, arranged in the style of Tetris, or perhaps Jenga.

I’ve been very quiet lately.  That’s because there’s been a lot going on, between work, school, and …moving!

My new apartment is close enough to where I work that I can walk there, instead of spending almost an hour on public transit each way.  Even better, I live directly across the street from a public library.  It is glorious.

Between Mike and I, we’ve managed to completely fill three bookshelves, and there are still two more boxes of books left to unpack.  My living room is beginning to resemble a library, and I’m pretty sure that a trip to Target for another bookshelf will be necessary in the near future.

As soon as my finals are over (5/12), I plan on writing a lot more book reviews.  Two extra hours in my day will make that much easier.  I’m already more relaxed and am finding that when I get home, I have the energy to read, which is a welcome change.

Here are some of the reviews that are in the works for you to look forward to in the next two weeks:

  • “There Once Lived a Girl Who Seduced Her Sister’s Husband, and He Hanged Himself: Love Stories” by Ludmilla Petrushevskaya
  • “Glow” by Jessica Maria Tucelli (review and giveaway)
  • Author Q&A with Deborah Harkness (Q&A and Giveaway provided by the publisher)
Categories: Other | Tags: , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “General Update on Life, the Universe, and Everything

  1. Good luck with your finals Grace and well done getting yourself a place nearer to work – it does make such a big difference to your work/life balance. Looking forward to your review.
    Lynn 😀

    • Thanks! Finals are over, and I think I did okay in both of my classes. One more class to go and I’ll be done for good! 🙂

  2. Jealous of being right across the street from the library! I’m not even a ten minute walk and I’m still jealous 😀 I’m also considering a new bookcase purchase, there’s a place in my town that’s like discount wooden bookcases and I need to go check it out.

    • Bookcase purchases are always good. I got a fourth this weekend, so I can finally put all of my books away. I love living so close to the library–it’ll help me be less tempted to buy new books when they come out. It was an important consideration when picking a neighborhood. 🙂

  3. Good luck with the finals! Looking forward to the reviews. Kudos on getting the Deborah Harkness Q&A/Giveaway — she’s been selling well at my place of employment. 🙂

    • Thanks! I was so excited when I got the e-mail about it. I got to meet her briefly at Book Expo last year, and I had a hard time putting her books down when I was reading them. I’m curious to see how the third book in her trilogy will be when it comes out.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

