I’m back! A Review of 2012, and some plans for the future

Happy New Year to everyone, and thank you for the well wishes and for understanding when I decided to take a hiatus from blogging.  While I haven’t responded to everyone, I read all of your comments, and I appreciated them tremendously.

Balancing school and work has been difficult this year, but there is a light at the end of the tunnel!  I have two classes this spring and one in the summer, and then I’ll finally have my master’s degree, at which point I shall celebrate.

Being a librarian is awesome, and even though I have less time for my hobbies (like blogging), I’m incredibly satisfied with my work, and I learn something new every day.  I also keep coming across new books that I’d like to read (I’m thinking that “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” might be one of those sometime in the near future).

Even with my hiatus, 2012 was a good blogging year for me.  I’m not crunching the numbers myself or doing an overview of the reading challenges that I did/didn’t complete during the year, but the WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog.  (Thank you WordPress monkeys!)

Here’s an excerpt:

4,329 films were submitted to the 2012 Cannes Film Festival. This blog had 47,000 views in 2012. If each view were a film, this blog would power 11 Film Festivals

Click here to see the complete report.

In the new year, I’d like to return to blogging on a limited basis.  I probably won’t be posting 10+ times a month like I used to, but I’m thinking that twice a month would be a reasonable goal until I’m graduated.  I miss discussing books with all of you!

I’m not planning on participating in any major year-long reading challenges right now, mostly because I don’t know how much time I have to commit to them.  However, I am planning on participating in Carl’s not-a-challenge, The 2013 Science Fiction Experience.  This event lasts for two months and involves reading/reviewing sci-fi novels on a casual basis.  I think I can handle that.  I’d also like to participate in Andrea’s Vintage Sci-Fi month.  I’m hoping to get a couple posts made up before the semester gets too crazy, and I can’t wait to see what all of you have been up to!

Categories: Month in Review, Other | Tags: , | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “I’m back! A Review of 2012, and some plans for the future

  1. Welcome back. Sounds like you’ve been busy, and I’m so glad to hear that all is going well. Two grad classes is still quite a lot when working. I wish you the best of luck and when you graduate I’ll have a beer in your honor in London for you. Shoot, let me know anytime you finish a paper, take a test–I’m always willing to be there for a friend. Happy new year and I wish you the best in 2013!

    • Thanks! It’s been a lot harder to balance everything since starting my new job, but I love working in a library and being continuously surrounded by books. I will definitely let you know when I finish! 🙂

  2. Good to have you back and good luck with your masters (MLS???). The Immortal Life was fantastic so if you do make time to read that I would love to find out what you think of it. Good to see some light at the end of the tunnel!

    • Thank you! I’m glad that I’m almost done… I’ve been wanting to read The Immortal Life because we’ve had several people come into our library to request it. I may end up buying it rather than waiting until the end of the wait list to read it, because I’m quite curious about it. 🙂

  3. Welcome back, you’ve been missed! Very happy that you are enjoying your Librarian job and am very excited that soon (even if it doesn’t feel like it) you’ll have that Master’s Degree. Look forward to the celebration.

    Thanks for deciding to take part in the Experience. I hope you can get a read or two in without it being any added stress onto your busy schedule.

    Happy New Year Grace!

    • You’re welcome! The Science Fiction Experience was my favorite blogging event last year, and I wouldn’t miss it for the world! 🙂

  4. congratulations on a fantastic year of blogging stats! Best wishes on your impending graduation.

    • Thank you! I was pleasantly surprised that people didn’t stop coming here altogether when I left, lol… 🙂

  5. L

    good to see you! but it is also nice knowing that you have a lot of good things going on that are occupying your time. I hope 2013 is an excellent one in all your endeavors!

  6. Good to see you back! Good luck with your last few classes. It’s always easier when the end of the tunnel is in sight, isn’t it? 🙂

    • Thank you! I’ve missed blogging, and I can’t wait to finally be graduated. It’s so much easier knowing that I only have to get through a few more months and then I’ll be done. I’m also relieved that for most librarians, an MLS is the terminal degree in the field… 😀

  7. Congratulations on that busy year! I also want to read the book about Henrietta Lacks 🙂 Have a wonderful 2013 and good luck with your studies.

    • Thanks! Henrietta Lacks has been very popular at the library where I work, and it sounds like something that I’d enjoy tremendously. 🙂

  8. Happy New Year! It’s good to see you back! I completely understand you struggling with the blogging because I’ve felt similar recently. I’ll definitely be looking forward to reading your posts, even if it’s not as often!

    • (PS, there’s always Twitter to discuss books too!)

      • Thanks! I’ll definitely try to use Twitter more. It’s especially convenient because I finally (after wanting one for years) got a smartphone, so now I can Tweet anywhere! 😀

  9. Ha, this is all good, we’re both doing the same events so can look forward to discussion :D. Good luck this year with everything, it’s all about a good balance after all and just enjoying yourself. Glad work is going well and you’re learning something all the time. What a great year for you and I hope 2013 is as good.
    Lynn 😀

    • Thank you! I think that balancing is the hardest part of grad school–even harder than the classes themselves.

      Do you know if there are any readalongs coming up in the near future?

  10. Happy New Year! Sounds like this will be a “major” year for you!

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

