September 2012: A Month in Review

During September, I read/reviewed the following books:

Announcement time!  I’ve posted a relatively small number of reviews this month and even skipped a groupread that I had signed up for, as my personal life has been incredibly busy.  After spending the past two years job-hunting, I finally found one!  I’m a real librarian now!

This will mean that I will have a bit less time for blogging.  I’ll schedule a couple reviews each week, but they’ll be a bit more spread out, and hopefully more consistent.  I’m still planning on participating in the readalong of “The Graveyard Book,” because I need more Neil Gaiman in my life.  I’ve have the book on my Kindle ready to go.

For all of you that I’ve promised reviews, they’re still coming!  I didn’t forget about you, there are just a lot of things that I have had to do this month, such as shopping for appropriate work clothes and keeping up with grad school.  I’ve reviewed every book that I read since I started my blog with the exception of textbooks.  I’m about eight reviews behind right now, and I’m hoping to catch up as soon as I possibly can.

As far as October reading plans go, I’m going to focus on playing catch-up with reviews and then getting in the mood for Halloween.  I’m hoping to read Dracula before the end of the month, as a friend and I have tickets to see it as a ballet on Halloween night.  I love going to the ballet, and I’m intrigued by the prospect of vampire ballerinas.

How’s your month been going?  Any exciting reading plans?

Categories: Month in Review | Tags: , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “September 2012: A Month in Review

  1. Congratulations! I hope that you are having a good first day.

    • Thanks! It ended up being busy, but good, and I think that I’ll enjoy this job tremendously. 🙂

  2. That’s great news! Congrats Grace! I hope your first day goes well and keep us informed. And yippie for Gaiman. Good luck with everything!

    • Thanks! I’m getting ready to leave in a few minutes, and I’m nervous/excited. It’s the first time in years that I’ve woken up excited and happy to go to work; it seems pretty much like my dream job. 🙂

  3. Congratulations on the great news about the new job! Super excited for you, though I wonder if working around books all day will make the TBR pile grow exponentially….:)

    Like you, my reading has dropped a bit in September. I chalk it up to football and being busy with random life stuff (getting ready for a half marathon while good for the audio book and podcast listening, sometimes reduces the time for reading) I hope to get back on the reading train soon….cause it’s not like the TBR pile isn’t growing

    • I’m sure the TBR pile will multiply. It’s a science library, but there is a very large bookshelf of fun books for employees, which is rather neat.

      I don’t think I’d be able to handle running a half marathon, as I’m not particularly athletic. Kudos for doing it!

  4. Whoohoo for the library job! Congrats. I’m hoping to get more involved with my local library, they asked me and a friend to join a committee for our city reads program where the entire city reads one book and then there are discussions about it. I think we’re going to do it!

    • That sounds interesting. Local libraries are excellent, and I love it when they have out of print treasures that I can’t find elsewhere. The idea of a citywide book club sounds fantastic!

      • It is a great idea! Somerville, my city, has done it three years now and I know Boston has done something similar and the Boston Book Festival does one too. It’s great!

  5. Congratulations! I work in a health science library. Have a super first day! L

  6. Let me step into the “Congratulations!” line.

    Getting that job must be such a relief. I’m freelance in the film business and, like a pigeon which spends its entire life eying the ground for the next crumb, I’m constantly looking for my next film employment. I never know when it’s coming and it’s difficult sometimes to steer clear of frustration and discouragement. The only consolation, is that I’m not alone. We movie people all get paid from project to project, even producers. Still, I’ve never gotten used to it.

    Beyond that, I just finished a page-turner titled: THE PARTY IS OVER – How the Republicans Went Crazy, Democrats Became USELESS, and the Middle Class Got Shafted by Mike Lofgren, a congressional staffer for thirty years who recently quit the ride and wrote a Tell-All book. God! It’s pure HORROR and VERY SCARY! The characters gave me the creeps, and the plot? Well…it’s not pretty and everybody betrays everybody. It’s a great summer read if you’ve got nothing else to do but cry.

    Seriously, if you don’t already know how Washington works behind the scenes, read this book.

    Irv

    • Thank you! I used to study politics, but then I decided that librarianship was a much better career choice. I got tired of DC politics very quickly. 🙂

      • Yeah, I get what you mean. I’m going to watch the debates for one reason only: are the candidates going to change the narrative. If they don’t…BORING!!!

        I wrote a blog article a few weeks ago (http://www.irvingsjourney.com/2012/09/to-all-writers-whos-story-are-you-telling/) comparing the presidential race to the construction of a novel and it’s marketing. If you observe politics as if writers were authoring a reality show, which it is, then the characters and plot twists take on a whole different meaning. I think political intrigue is a refection of the competitive nature of our species, which all heroic sagas are about.

        Irv

  7. Congratulations to you! that’s fantastic news!

    So, are you going to emulate Mrs. Calloway and turn away girls not wearing slips?

    • Thanks! Probably not, because it’s not that type of library. It is, however, a science library, which is awesome in its own right. 😀

  8. Congratulations! You may now enjoy this Ryan Gosling Tumblr, if you haven’t seen it already: http://librarianheygirl.tumblr.com/.

  9. Congratulations! That’s awesome news! I bet it’s going to be awesome!
    Dracula the ballet sounds… interesting. xD I agree with Lynn, if you have the time I’d love to hear what it’s like! I’ve been to a ballet based on a play once and couldn’t for the life of me understand what was going on…

    • Thanks! I was starting to get pretty discouraged after two years of applying, so I’m glad that things finally worked out. I couldn’t envision a more perfect situation.

      That’s part of why I want to read the book first; when watching a ballet, it’s almost expected that you know the story first. I’m hoping to do a post reviewing the book and then another one on how it translates into a ballet; the entire concept is intriguing, and there couldn’t be a better time to see it than Halloween night!

  10. Hi Grace
    Congratulations. That’s excellent news and I’m really pleased for you. When do you start or have you already started?
    Enjoy your next few weeks – hope you like Dracula (I think it’s a great book) – and vampire ballet, what an unusual idea but why not? I would like to read what you make of it.
    Well done to you.
    Lynn 😀

    • I start tomorrow. It’s incredibly exciting, and I still keep thinking that I’m going to wake up and realize that I dreamed it. 🙂

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

