New Acquisitions – 9/6/12

I’m a few books behind on reviews, but I hope to catch up soon!  Instead of a review today, here are some of the books that I’ve recently acquired.

I turned 24 this past weekend, and so I bought myself a few new books in celebration.  I blame Joachim Boaz at Science Fiction and Other Suspect Ruminations, because he introduced me to Marx Books, which has a fantastic selection of used SF/F novels.  In fact, I’m probably going to be placing another order from them in the near future, because they have many books that have been on my radar but are hard to track down.

  • “Islands” by Marta Randall – Somebody reviewed this one a few months back, and it seemed like something I’d enjoy.  I forget who it was though.  Ooops.
  • “Stand on Zanzibar” by John Brunner – This one was recommended to me by Joachim Boaz at the beginning of the year, and I’ve been planning to read it ever since.  However, the used bookstore that I go to never seemed to have a copy in stock.
  • “Tarnsman of Gor” by John Norman – Okay, okay.  Sometimes I have the reading taste of a 13-year-old boy, particularly if I’ve been having a rough day.  I’m expecting something a bit like “A Princess of Mars,” but with more bondage.
  • “High Couch of Silistra” by Janet Morris – I bought this one because “Silistra” is part of an inside joke and I was amazed that it was an actual thing, not just a word that I made up.  And yes, that’s enough of a reason to make me want to read something while knowing absolutely nothing about the plot.

I went to the library and picked up “The Little Stranger” by Sarah Waters, which means that I’ve decided to participate in the RIP groupread that began this week.  Hopefully I can catch up in time for the first discussion.  I also picked up “Mind of My Mind,” which is the next installment in Octavia Butler’s Patternist series.

Categories: Fiction, Other | Tags: , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “New Acquisitions – 9/6/12

  1. I want to read that Tarnsman of Gor book so I get all the subtle references in Hines’s Libriomancer. One of the characters in Libriomancer is based on a character from the Gor series.

    • The Gor book is exactly the kind of reading that I need right now. I’m apartment sitting for my boyfriend who is on vacation in Mexico and when I got to the apartment there was already a sewage backup and there’s a giant mess and repair people and shit and I didn’t sleep last night. Gor is distracting enough, light-hearted, and doesn’t involve too much thinking. In other contexts I might have judged it a bit more harshly, but it’s the perfect book for the occasion.

      I haven’t read any Jim Hines, but I have a feeling that I’d love him just from seeing him reenact female vs. male fantasy cover poses on his blog. Those pictures make me happy. I’ll have to add Libromancer to my list!

  2. Those are fun, and now I can go check out Marx Books myself. Yay!!!!

    13 year old boy books are just the ticket sometimes. They really are.

    So glad you picked up The Little Stranger. I’m really enjoying it thus far. I need to pick up the pace this weekend though to get to the midway point.

    • I’ve got a feeling that you’ll love Marx Books… lots of old and out of print goodies! Sometimes I’m in the mood for thinking books, and sometimes I want some good pulpy fun. Lately it’s been a lot of the latter.

      I haven’t started reading The Little Stranger yet, but my plans for tomorrow are pretty much to read/relax/blog, so I should be able to catch up in time. 🙂

  3. happy Birthday! wow 24 eh? lol you could be my granddaughter!.. I don’t know if you realize it or not but two of your books (Gor and Silistra) have covers painted by Frank Frazetta (he did many Conan covers too) He died recently but was a fantatic artist! And please don’t think you sometimes read like a 13 yr old! I know many (carl: stainless steel rat) reads those !!! Sci fi is, Sci fi ! Enjoy your b’day pressie’s!

    • Oooh, neat! I love learning about different cover artists; I could tell that they were both by the same artist, but wasn’t quite sure who it was. Did he do covers for A Princess of Mars too?

  4. Happy birthday! I celebrate the same way, with books! And I’m so behind in reviews as well. Good luck with the groupread. I’m waiting for the Gaiman one.

    • Thanks! Books are an excellent way to celebrate.
      I’ve had a lot more time for reading than writing over the past couple weeks. I’ve had a few interviews, so lots of commuting/cafe time to pass with a good book. 🙂

  5. Oh boy. The Gor Series. I tried to read those (they sounded fun) but… oi. They are pretty bad. I honestly didn’t finish the first one, and they do devolve into a rather male chauvinistic BDSM in the later series. 😛

    Even though I don’t comment, I do keep up on your blog. I love your taste in books. 🙂

    • Yay, and thanks for reading!

      I did start the Gor novel earlier and I’m liking it thus far. I’m not more than 50 pages in yet though, and I don’t like the way Norman infodumps. It’s distracting. I have no expectations about the book, but figured it would make a good pulpy bathtub read. Lots of adventure, not a ton of substance, and no big deal if I accidentally drop it.

  6. Interesting titles! Glad to see you’re going to read “The Little Stranger” for R.I.P. VII. I got so hooked into it I’m 75% done and we’re going to be discussing it around Sept. 9th as the halfway point! I think I’ll be done by then… =D
    I second Dungeon Master’s recommendation for Robert E. Howard. Those Conan tales are great.

    • I will definitely check out Howard next time I’m placing an order! 🙂
      I haven’t started The Little Stranger yet, but I’m looking forward to it!

  7. Happy birthday! 24 was my very favorite year. Hope yours is great!

  8. You’re going to need a new place to live soon just to store all your books!
    Nice haul and happy belated burpday wishes.
    Lynn 😀

  9. Have you read any of Robert E. Howard’s Conan stories? Because you should. They are pulpy and fantastical and amazing.

  10. I suspect it was Ian Sales’ review of Islands on SF Mistressworks….

    http://sfmistressworks.wordpress.com/2012/04/27/islands-marta-randall/

    But yes, Marx books — three purchases in quick succession from me…. I haven’t posted all the ones I’ve acquired yet.

    • Oooh, awesome! That’s the one.

      Marx Books is fantastic, and after browsing it I’ve got a sizeable list that I want to order. *evil grin*

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

