July 2012: A Month in Review

During June, I had lamented that I was behind on both reading and reviews.  I’ve finally (mostly) caught up!  I read and/or reviewed eleven books this month:

Normally I would list some of my recent book acquisitions in my month-in-review post, but this month I haven’t bought any new books.  Mostly it’s because  it’s been at least a hundred degrees for much of the past month, and so I’ve been spending most of my time reading in the air conditioning.  Walking or taking public transit to a bookstore just doesn’t sound appealing when it’s this hot outside.  When it cools down a bit outside I’ll start visiting my local bookstores again.  Luckily, I have a lot of review copies of books being released in August/September/October, so I’m in no danger of running out of reading material at any time in the foreseeable future.

My goal for August is to spend most of it reading and relaxing, as classes start up again on the 28th.  As far as reading plans go, this month I’ll be participating in my first TLC blog tour, during which I’ll be discussing Irina Lopatina’s “White Raven.”  I just finished reading Rachel Neumeier’s “The House of Shadows,” so I should have a review up within the next few days.  I’ve also got an author interview scheduled for next week with Debra Dean that will coincide with the release of her book The Mirrored World, which I read and reviewed earlier this summer.  Yay!

This weekend also begins the final groupread in Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy.  See here for more information or to sign up.  This groupread is being done blog tour style, with one blogger hosting the discussions each week.

What are your reading plans for the upcoming month?

Categories: Fiction, Month in Review | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “July 2012: A Month in Review

  1. Wow, you’ve done really well reading all those books during July! I’m hoping to catch up with my reading this month as I was busy with other things in July.

    • Thanks! Two or three or them were books I’d read in June, but I was behind on reviews. I’m trying to get in as much reading as I can before the semester starts and I’ll have to start doing schoolwork again.

  2. Eleven reviews?! Wow! I’m really impressed. I am absurdly behind in my blog reading, but I’ll try to take a peek at them soon. Nice job 🙂

  3. Ellie

    I always have too many books to read. Some people have a TBR pile, I have a TBR mountain. Working at a bookstore does not help! I am just hoping to read some books I’ve been meaning to read for months (Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed is one). I’m also doing Grand Master Reading Challenge at worldswithoutend.com, so I’m hoping to do some of that — I joined late and so I’m a little bit behind.

    • If I worked in a bookstore I’m pretty sure I’d spend most of my paycheck there. It would be dangerous. 🙂

  4. 100 degrees…I never thought I’d say this, but that sounds nice. It is chilly and rainy in London today. I would like some nice weather. You’ve been busy. I finished the last Mistborn–I was bad. I’ll do my best to participate in the discussions but I don’t want to give anything away so that will be difficult. Enjoy your last few weeks of freedom!

    • Well, DC is also exceedingly humid. I’d take chilly and rainy over this heat! Wanna trade? 😛

      I’m gonna try not to read ahead with the next Mistborn book, but I’m not sure how long that resolve will last.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

