A New Type of Groupread

I’m a sucker for groupreads, as many of you know, but lately I’ve gone a bit overboard.  A lot of people had similar thoughts, and so Carl came up with a new model for the next groupread in the Mistborn series.

We’re going to do this one blog tour style.  To quote Carl (who is quoting Deanna):

Deanna did a marvelous job coalescing all the above gobbledygook into this succinct explanation:

1. Discussion Host would post questions on his/her site.

2. Discussion participants would flock to that site, answer questions and discuss all in the comments of Discussion Host site.

3. Discussion participants do not create their own blog post with answers to questions (those answers goes under comments at discussion host site).

Then each discussion participant could do their own wrap up post (a review of the book) [at the end of the group read] if they choose to do so.

Basically, rather than everyone posting each week and then visiting everyone’s blogs, we’re taking one blog and having it host the discussion each week.  Hopefully it’ll put a lot less pressure on everyone to get posts up on time and make the rounds between an ever-increasing number of blogs.  If it doesn’t work out, then we’ll switch up the formats for Book 3.

I’m going to make a mini-post each week just to remind anyone new where the discussions will be located.

And now, without further ado, the schedule (also copy/pasted from Carl’s blog):

Start Reading Now.

Part One Discussion: Saturday, June 23rd. Hosted by Carl V.

Part Two Discussion: Saturday, June 30th. Hosted by Grace.

Part Three Discussion: Saturday, July 7th. Hosted by Sue.

Part Four Discussion: Saturday, July 14th. Hosted by Adam.

Part Five and Six (+Epilogue) Discussion: Saturday, July 21st. Hosted by Lynn.

Wrap Up Post (Book Review) if you so desire.

Sign-ups are over on Carl’s blog for anyone who is interested in joining.  I enjoyed the first book of the Mistborn trilogy tremendously, and am looking forward to reading and discussing the next!

Categories: Fantasy, Fiction | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “A New Type of Groupread

  1. I suppose it depends a bit on the book but basically I think it’s a good idea.

    • It’s worth a try, at any rate. I’m curious to see how it’ll work out.

      I love groupreads and the interaction and discussions with other bloggers, but I’ve been doing so many lately that it’s a bit stressful. I’m going to try to cut back on them and keep to no more than one at a time. Hopefully the new format for this one will help.

  2. Good times will be had by all. I’m looking forward to seeing everyone’s thoughts about book two.

    • I can’t wait to read it. I’ve had to hold myself back to keep from starting it immediately after finishing the first book.

  3. Can’t wait. I read part one last night and loved it. I’m curious to see where he will take us this time. He had a way of shocking me.

    • Mhm. I’m waiting to start it until a day or two before the first discussion because I already know that I won’t want to put it down once I do… 😀

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

