BEA Excursion, Day 2

Before I get into today’s post, I just want to take a moment to mention that Ray Bradbury died.  May he rest in peace.

Now, onward to BEA… no picture with this update, because I am exhausted and being lazy.  I thought yesterday was chaotic.  I was mistaken.  Apparently today was supposed to be the busiest day of Book Expo, and it lived up to its reputation.

I woke up early this morning after a restless night of sleep (I have a bit of a cold, which is not fun).  I chugged a bunch of coffee and headed to Javits, where I got to meet John Scalzi.  I told him that I would have brought him bacon, but that I couldn’t find any at that particular time of morning.  Scalzi thanked me for not bringing him bacon, as it’s a bit difficult to travel with, but signed my copy of Redshirts with the phrase “Thanks for the bacony thoughts!”  I cannot even begin to describe the level of awesomeness that I felt at that moment.

I had decided after bringing home almost 30 books yesterday that I would bring back fewer today.  I still ended up with another 25, many of which were signed.  In addition to Scalzi, I also got to meet N. K. Jemisin and Charles Stross, among other people.  I’ll make a post later about the highlights of my BEA acquisitions, because right now I’m too tired to think or dig through my bags.

After a hectic day at the Expo, we went to an event at the New York Public Library which featured readings from four authors:  Kristin Cashore, N. K. Jemisin, Naomi Novic, and Catherynne Valente, all of which were awesome.  Oh, and the whole thing was hosted by Lev Grossman and accompanied by a band that included a cello and an accordion.  It was pretty awesome.

We also got an invite to a DC Comics party at a club.  We stopped by for a little while, but it involved a lot more standing than we were willing to tolerate, and we didn’t see any of the writers who were supposed to be there.  I think that Pubdate would have been a lot more fun if I wasn’t so tired, and also if they didn’t charge you money to use the restroom.

Ok, it’s my bedtime now… night everyone!

Categories: Other | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “BEA Excursion, Day 2

  1. Pingback: So I don’t need to buy books for a very long time… « Books Without Any Pictures

  2. Richard

    So you got my message I sent you. What books did you get? Any book I asked you to read?

    • I got a lot of books at the expo, mostly review copies of books that are coming out this fall. I got one by Cory Doctorow and Charles Stross, and I got a random Hungarian sci-fi that seemed intriguing.

  3. You got to meet NK Jemisin! I am so crazy jealous. I haven’t read anything by John Scalzi, do you have a suggestion for a good place to start?

    • I started with “Old Man’s War.” It’s sci-fi, but very accessible because Scalzi has a sense of humor and doesn’t take himself too seriously.

      N.K. Jemisin is crazy nice. She talked to me for a while at the signing earlier in the day and told me she liked my henna tattoo. 🙂

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

