BEA Excursion, Arrival and The Strand

I got to NYC today around lunchtime, which gave me an excellent excuse to get some NYC pizza.  Both Geoff W and The Dungeon Master suggested that I check out The Strand, which is a huge bookstore boasting 18 miles of bookshelves.  I was impressed, and I picked up two books while I was there:

  • “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” by Steig Larsson
  • “Tom O’Bedlam” by Robert Silverberg

People have been recommending that I read “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” for a while now, so when I saw a copy for $0.48 I couldn’t very well pass it up.  I hadn’t heard of this particular Robert Silverberg book before today, but the cover seems intriguing and Silverberg is a good writer.

After I finished my wanderings, got settled at the hotel, and had some dinner, I went to a party at a bookstore that involved poetry readings, a banjo, and a guy eating crackers on stage.  It was very loud there, so I didn’t quite catch what the cracker-eating was supposed to symbolize, nor did I manage to hear much of the banjo.

The actual conference starts tomorrow morning.  I can’t wait!

Categories: Other | Tags: , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “BEA Excursion, Arrival and The Strand

  1. Pingback: So I don’t need to buy books for a very long time… « Books Without Any Pictures

  2. Yay for The Strand! I need to swing back by next time I’m in NY and get a new Tote, mine broke last year 😦

    • It’s a cool place, and definitely the type of bookstore where you can’t go in for anything specific but you’ll come out with treasure.

  3. “The GIrl with the Dragon Tattoo” is really good., but fair warning: its starts slow. Its important info at the start, but makes for dry reading. Once that’s done, the book picks up and sucks you in 🙂

  4. Richard

    If you have time see if they have Star Maker by Olaf Stapledon

    • I’m probably not going to end up going back this trip because I may or may not have thirty books in my hotel room right now, and it’s only day one. *maniacal laughter*

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

