Red Seas Under Red Skies Readalong, Part V

First of all, a general housekeeping note… I’m out of town this weekend and posting this using WordPress’ nifty scheduler.  I won’t be back to respond to comments and visit blogs until late Monday and won’t be able to see or respond to anyone until then.  In fact, I’m going so far into the middle of nowhere that I won’t even have cell phone reception.  *evil grin*

It feels like we just started reading this book yesterday and now we’re already finished.  Many thanks to Andrea over at The Little Red Reviewer for hosting this and to all of you who wrote questions and participated in the discussions.  It’s been a wonderful experience.

This week’s questions were written by Lynn.  Today’s fan art is by shoughad and is entitled Also, I am entirely fictional.  I laughed when Locke came out with that line at long last.

From this point on, there will be MAJOR plot spoilers (major as in “We just finished the book and wanna talk about the ending”).  If you haven’t read it but are planning on reading it, stay tuned for my spoiler-free review later in the week.

Oh my god, such a lot going on I thought the showdown between the Poison Orchid and the Sovereign was brilliantly written and they were holding their own until Utgar and his nasty device turned up.  Well a lot of you had kind of predicted it, and I suppose we’d been let off too easy so far in terms of deaths of well-liked characters  – but come on,  did you expect something like that?  And how on earth will Jean ever recover?

I’ve been saying ever since we started that Ezri was doomed, but at the same time I’m glad that it was her who died.  Not that I wasn’t upset by it, but I was panicking when the ship got boarded that Zamira’s kids might end up getting hurt, and I was grateful that they didn’t.  Ezri’s death was tragic, but I’m glad that at least Lynch gave her the honor of a heroic death, albeit an incredibly painful and unnecessary one.  I feel so bad for Jean.

The deceit, the betrayal, first Rodanov and then Colvard.  Even now I’m not entirely sure I understand Colvard – Rodanov was never keen on the oath but Colvard seemed okay with it all and yet in this final deceit she was more devious than Rodanov – what do you think was her motive?

Both of their motives seemed fair enough.  If Zamira went too close to Tal Verrar then she risked upsetting the Verrari enough that they’d bring their little ships to come crush Port Prodigal.  They just wanna be left alone so they can pillage and plunder, and Zemira’s plan would threaten that if anything went wrong.

Merrain – such a puzzle, no real answer, the mysterious tattoo, the determination to kill everyone to keep her identity and that of her master a secret.  Does anybody have any ideas where she’s from and what she’s up to exactly and who the hell is she working for??

I’d lay bets on the Bondsmagi.

Finally we get to the point of the GB’s latest scheme, all that elaborate planning for two years, fancy chairs, gambling, dust covered cards, abseiling lessons – all for one gigantic bluff. I loved the diversionary tactic here but having finally reached the end of the story and, more to the point, the end result – do you think the GB’s are as clever as they think they are?

When I found out that they weren’t quite as clever as they thought they were and that the pictures were fake, I started laughing and people on the metro started giving me dirty looks.  They did earn Requin’s respect though, not that it’ll help them at all.

I must admit that I liked Requin and Selendri – particularly at the end – I don’t think Requin will go after Locke and Jean, he was even sort of cool and composed about it all, in fact he came across as a bit pleased with himself because he had the last laugh.  Plenty of good characters this time which did you enjoy reading most about this time?

Selendri was badass and I’m glad that she survived the book.  She and Requin are such a cute couple.  I also loved seeing Zamira with her kids.  She was an awesome pirate momma, and I wanna be that cool when I grow up.

Oh, and my favorite part of the entire book was when Locke and Zamira joyously sacked Salon Corbeau.  Saljesca was a bitch (and I’m actually censoring myself here, I’ve plenty of less appropriate words for her) who totally deserved it, and I want to give our pirates a hearty round of applause for doing the right thing.  *claps*

Finally, a triple barrel question, I know I shouldn’t ask this BUT, on reflection do you have a favourite between LoLL or RSURS??  And why?  Are you going to pick up Republic of Thieves?  And, where do you think Lynch will take us to next??

It’s hard to choose a favorite between the two.  I did think that RSURS was a bit less serious than LoLL.  I’m glad that each book has its own story arc.  After reading RSURS, I’ll definitely pick up Republic of Thieves.  I need to know how Locke survives the poison, and I absolutely MUST meet Sabetha.  I’m hoping it comes out soon!

Categories: Fantasy, Fiction | Tags: , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Red Seas Under Red Skies Readalong, Part V

  1. I love that everyone is expecting so much of the next book, poor Mr Lynch must freak out if he reads those posts! But it’s true, I also wanna know everything, meet Sabetha, find Merrain again, see Locke surviving and doing another crazy con… I’m so impatient!!

    • I’m never patient when waiting for sequels or the next book of a series, especially since Locke still has poison in his system.

  2. Pingback: Final Red Seas Under Red Skies read along discussion « the Little Red Reviewer

  3. Ha, ha, I started laughing out loud as well when I realized the pictures were fakes. It was just such a great moment in the story. 🙂
    And a big thank you to Mr. Lynch for Salon Corbeau.

    • Mhm. Even if Saljesca didn’t suffer from more than humiliation, it was still a great scene. I picture Locke sacking the city with a giant grin on his face the whole time.

  4. Merrain has replaced Sabetha in the category “most interesting woman we know little about but are bound to meet later”. I’m not entirely convinced that she’s Bondsmagi or one totally loyal to them. You’re not alone in enjoying the fate of Salon Corbeau. Those evil aristocrats had it coming.

    • my only complaint about Salon Corbeau was that we didn’t get to enjoy their terrified screaming. Not that I’m bitter about them or anything! 😀

      • I wanted Lady Saljesca to die slowly and painfully, or better yet, she should be allowed to first become a pawn in her own sadistic game. She’s so easy to hate.

  5. Pingback: Red Seas Under Red Skies Read Along Finale « Darkcargo

  6. I was also concerned for the kids when Drakasha’s ship was boarded. She told Utgar, dirty traitor, to secure them in the rope cabinet (or such) and I was really worried that he would use that piece of info against her and harm the kids. Or turn them over to Rodanov – who might harm them.

    Have fun in the land of no cell phone reception.

    • I’m really grateful that no harm came to the children. I hate to ever see that happen.
      http://realbooks4ever.tumblr.com/post/23784973706

    • Thanks! It was a nice weekend, but it’s good to be back in the city where I can use the internet and my cell phone. 🙂

      I’m so so very glad that the kids ended up being okay. I wanted to hurt Utgar for what he did though, because blowing up the ship would most definitely have killed the kids. I kept wondering the whole time when Utgar would show his true colors…

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

