Post-finals book buying binge

My classes for this semester are officially done, and I got A’s.  Now that I’ll (hopefully) have more time to read, I went on a bit of a sci-fi book-buying binge.

I went into the used bookstore with the intention of picking up something else by Sheri S. Tepper.  I recently read Singer From the Sea and couldn’t put it down, despite the fact that the book was so very strange and had such a strong eco-feminist agenda.  I was in luck and ended up getting two of her books, “The Gate to Women’s Country” and “Six Moon Dance.”

I had hoped to come across a copy of Larry Niven’s “Ringworld,” but they didn’t have it.  However, I did find Niven’s “The Integral Trees,” complete with the fabulous Michael Whelan cover!  I also picked up the second book in Frank Herbert’s “Dune” series.  I read Dune last summer as a groupread and have been toying with trying one of the sequels for a while now.

As I was getting ready to check out, the nice bookstore employee noticed my Sheri Tepper books and got excited.  We had a nice chat about sci-fi novels, and she ended up recommending that I try Theodore Sturgeon and Octavia Butler.  Both of these books look fantastic.  The Sturgeon one was the winner of a Retroactive Hugo award.  I can’t wait to read these two books, and it was really neat to meet someone in real life who enjoys the same books that I do.

If you’ve read any of these, how are they?  I’m so excited for summertime reading!

Categories: Other | Tags: , , , , , , , | 41 Comments

Post navigation

41 thoughts on “Post-finals book buying binge

  1. You’ll have to promise to review “Integral Trees” because I don’t know anything about it, but have enjoyed a lot of other Niven novels.

  2. Re: Dune, the later sequels aren’t nearly on the same level. Dune Messiah and Children of Dune are the only reasonable sequels, but after Children of Dune (which is actually a solidly good book in itself) it goes downhill fairly quickly.

    • That’s what I’ve heard… I was thinking that if Dune Messiah was decent I’d read as far as Children of Dune and then stop, because I heard that everything afterward isn’t worth reading.

  3. Congratulations on your results! I hope you get to have a nice relaxing time reading all of your new books now 🙂

  4. Awesome way to wind down the semester. I have read some Tepper – which you already know is good. Dune Messiah i found interesting but not as engaging as Dune or Children of Dune (Book 3), but I still recommend it for the series. I loved Octavia Butler’s Lilith’s Brood trilogy. It put her up there in my top 20 favorite authors.

    • Octavia Butler seems like such an interesting author. I’d never heard of her before the nice bookstore person pointed her out, and I’m already planning on getting more of her books. 🙂

  5. great finds! you are going to love Gate to Women’s Country.

  6. Love the Integral Trees cover. And I’m a fan of Niven as well. I need to break down and read this book as I’m dying to read the sequel, The Smoke Ring, which as a Whelan cover that I love even more! I mentioned to him this weekend that he has caused me to purchase many as yet unread books because of his work, but (as in the case of Asimov) caused me to read many I might not have read simply because I had to find out about the person on the cover. And as he actually reads the books he does covers for (when he is allowed to), his covers almost always capture some part of the story.

    Congrats on the A’s, you earned a book buying binge for sure!

    • Thanks! I’m so jealous that you got to meet Whelan. What’s he like in person? I’d always wondered whether he read the books that he did the covers for. 🙂

      I’ve never read any Niven, but they had a lot of his books at the bookstore. When they didn’t have Ringworld, I was just like “Whelp, this one has a Michael Whelan cover. Decision made.”

  7. I really liked The Gate to Women’s Country. Hope you will enjoy it as well,
    I need to read Octavia Butler, I think I read a review a long while back on Nymeth’s blog of Kindred. It sounded very good.
    I can’t remember, have you read Among Others by Jo Walton? You’d love it.

    • I haven’t read “Among Others” yet, but I’ve heard a lot of good things about it and plan on picking up a copy if I come across one. 🙂

  8. Congratulations on your successful semester.

    It looks like you also enjoy historical, so I would recommend Octavia Butler’s Kindred. It’s a time travel to the pre-Civil War era. Compelling and suspenseful at the same time.

    • Thanks! “Kindred” looks like such an interesting book; I’m definitely going to look for it next time I’m book shopping! 😀

  9. WTG on your results and enjoy your newfound time to read what you want. I don’t know anything about those books, but look forward to reading your reviews of them. It feels good to go on a book buying spree doesn’t it? 🙂

  10. Can I also suggest that if you write reviews of any lady SF&F authors, you send a link to Ian Sales at http://sfmistressworks.wordpress.com/ ? 🙂

    • I should do that; I’ve been collecting/reading a lot of sci-fi by women lately. 🙂

    • What’s his contact info by chance? It’s not actually listed on the site.

      • Hi. Thanks for the mention. You can use ian (at) iansales (dot) net. All reviews welcome. The only criteria are: science fiction only, no YA, novels written by women and published before 2001, and the reviews must be at least 500 words. They don’t have to be positive, and they can be reviews of books that have already been reviewed on SF Mistressworks.

  11. I really loved Six Moon Dance and I have also been on my personal quest for more Tepper books. I agree with Michael about the Dune books: I am currently half way through the fourth book (Heretics of Dune), and I am really struggling to get any further.

    • I’m so curious to see what more of her books are like. The one that I read was like a combo of Dune, A Handmaid’s Tale, and Fern Gully, which made it both weird and awesome at the same time.

  12. Delighted to run into another Tepper fan! Have you read Grass. It is probably my favorite book by her. Also very wierd.

    Integral Trees was also a great read, but I would pick up Ringworld if you get the chance. I also strongly recommend Kindred by Octavia Butler.

    Heehee. Just trying to help with your next book buying binge. Happy reading!

    • I haven’t read Grass; they didn’t have that one in paperback or I’d have gotten it and it’s sequels. I’m definitely going to keep a look out for Kindred and Ringworld! 🙂

      • It isn’t easy to find Grass, but it’s worth hunting. It is probably one of my favorite books of all time. Sounds like you’ll be busy reading for a bit though. 🙂

        • If I get desperate I’ll buy the hardcover, but the bookstore owners are big SF/F fans so I know that chances are a paperback will come along eventually. I can’t wait to read the others though! Despite the few complaints that I had about Singer From the Sea, I couldn’t stop reading it to the point that I almost burned dinner because I didn’t want to put it down long enough to check the food.

          • I’ve almost burned dinner more than once that way.

            I haven’t actually read Singer From the Sea. I’ll have to pick that one up now. 🙂

  13. As a reader of the Dune series, I will warn you that the sequels tend to be a law of very diminishing returns. The original trilogy is OK, but after that….yeah, not my favorites.

    And the prequels by Kevin J. Anderson and Brian Herbert….::shudder:::

    • That’s what I’ve heard. I figured that I’d give book two a chance and maybe even three, but after that stop before it gets too painful. 😛

  14. You have to love the old school Sci-Fi covers. Have you ever read the “The Archaeologists Guide to the Galaxy” blog? He reviews a lot of Sci-Fi and posts about cover art. It’s kind of cool if you haven’t:

    http://sophyanempire.wordpress.com/

    • I havent; I just checked it out and am following it now! Thanks!

      • You’re welcome! I stumbled across it a while ago when I was reading one of the not-Enders’ Scott Card series and thought it was interesting.

        • Oooh, nice. I haven’t read any of his books other than Ender’s Game/Shadow. I’ve heard good things about his older stuff.

  15. Congratulations on your results! No better way to celebrate than a book buying binge, enjoy the reads – they look great. Gate to women’s country is a classic.

    • Thanks! It’ll be good to have more time for reading, and I keep hearing such good things about Gate to Women’s Country.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

