Red Seas Under Red Skies Readalong, Part IV

Welcome to week four of the Red Seas Under Red Skies readalong, hosted by Andrea over at The Little Red Reviewer.

The picture to the left is Ezri Delmastro by SHADOWxxxMIMZ.  Jean and Ezri are adorable, and I’m hoping that Scott Lynch doesn’t decide to get rid of her.

This week’s questions were written by Nrlymrtl from Dark Cargo.

From this point forward there will be spoilers.

1) I was much relieved when Jean and Locke made up, which started with Locke’s gesture of a cup full of honesty with Cpt. Drakasha. Do you think that was hard for Locke? Or was he using this bit of honesty like any other weapon in his arsenal to get what he wants in the end?

The honesty is a weapon, but that doesn’t mean it was easy for Locke to do.  He didn’t want to be honest with Drakasha, and telling her the truth (or at least part of it) meant swallowing his pride and acknowledging that Jean was right.

2) The Parlor Passage: We still don’t know Locke’s true name, but whatever was in that mist does. What do you think it is?

I think it’s related to the Eldren.  Some ghost or trace of their magic perhaps?

3) There was an interesting section of the book that started about where Locke assisted Drakasha in selling the Red Messenger; he put on the persona of Leocanto Kosta and used the alias Tavras Callas and then Drakasha was still thinking of him as Ravelle….. Did using all those various aliases in such a short amount of time have your mind spinning a little? Do you think Lynch did this on purpose to give the reader a sense of Locke’s mind?

One of these days Locke is going to slip up and forget what lies he’s told to whom.  It may be his undoing.  I think we saw with Locke’s interaction with Requin that even he is having a hard time keeping his stories straight.

4) That was a sweet little kiss between Cpt. Zamira and Cpt. Jaffrim at the end of the Captains’ Council. Do you think they have some history, or is it just innocent flirting that’s been going on for some time?

I think something may have happened a long time ago, but it’s in the past and not particularly relevant.  It’s a flirtatious joke/gesture for old time’s sake.

5) Jean and Ezri. Cue dove-cooing and little winged hearts with sparkles. Do you think Jean will stay with the Poison Orchid or that Ezri will leave her ship to pal around with Jean and Locke?

I still think that something bad is going to happen to Ezri, and I’ll be very upset if it does, and I do mean sobbing on the Metro upset here.  If Ezri doesn’t get killed off, I think it would be cool if they could come to a compromise in which they build elaborate schemes that require time both on land and at sea while raising a little crew of Bastards trained by Uncle Locke.

6) What is Utgar up to? What are his motivations?

I have no idea, but I do think that Locke and Jean are definitely being spied on.  Maybe something to do with Merrain and/or the assassins?

7) So last week we hashed over that Merrain killed some of Stragos’s guards on Windward Rock. But when Jean and Locke visit him, he doesn’t mention it. What is up with that?

I was wondering exactly the same thing.  I expected Stragos to say something, but he didn’t, which means either he’s found Merrain out or he has other plans for revenge on Locke and Jean.  What if he didn’t really give them the antidote?  They’d act the same way if they believed he had given it to them.

8) This week’s section left us where the book began – Jean pointing a crossbow at Locke’s throat. Do you think Jean knows who sent these crossbowers? Is he on their side? Is it a clever ploy to get him and Locke out of this predicament? Did you find it excruciatingly hard to stop here?

I had a very difficult time stopping here.  I have no idea what’s going on.  Maybe there’s some sort of Bondsmagi trick here?  Or maybe the hand signals have been compromised… I want to trust Jean, but I have no idea what’s going on.

I can’t wait to see what happens next!  I’ll see everyone next week for the conclusion of the book.

Categories: Fantasy, Fiction | Tags: , , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Red Seas Under Red Skies Readalong, Part IV

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one late…:)

    As Lisa Simpson once said, “The last refuge of a scoundrel is the truth.” That’s what I thought of when Locke decided to come clean.

    • Yup. I don’t know which was harder for him, telling the truth or admitting that Jean was right.

  2. “One of these days Locke is going to slip up and forget what lies he’s told to whom. It may be his undoing.”

    and these are stories all about consequences, aren’t they?

    i’m probably going to stay up WAY TOO LATE tonight finishing this book!

    • I’m planning on finishing it later in the week, most likely in one sitting. I’m so curious about how it’s going to end!

  3. Pingback: Red Seas Under Red Skies read along, part the fourth « the Little Red Reviewer

  4. I agree on #3. Locke keeps stressing me out by waiting until he’s actually in a conversation to make up his story. I feel like one of these days he’s just going to blank on what he’s told a particular person.

  5. Sometimes I wonder about this antidote business… I mean, what if Stragos is just bulshitting them? Then it wouldn’t matter if he would give them the antidote or not, in the end he would just plainly kill them off when they’ve done what he wants (or screwed up too much). I kind of hope it’s the case, because they can probably deal with Stragos much easier than with a deadly poison…

    • Quite true. Then again, I’m curious to see how the whole “let’s go after Stragos’ alchemist” plan would go. It makes more sense than immediately going after Stragos himself.

  6. Love the Ezri art! You have me extremely worried now that Lynch is going to kill her off too. There have been far too few deaths in this one and I have a feeling this last section is going to be PACKED full of our favorite people getting “teeth lessons”.

    Also, I think I’m in the boat of those speculating there might not be any poison at all.

    • It’s unnerving that nobody but Channis has died yet. It’s worrisome because we learned in the last book that nobody’s safe.

      I didn’t think there was poison until Channis’ mysterious death. My theory is that he didn’t get his antidote and that Locke and Jean were being set up to fail.

  7. I keep having this nagging feeling that there really isn’t any poison in what Stragos gave to Locke and Jean.

    • I’m kind of torn on whether there is or isn’t. I had thought that there wasn’t up until Caldris’ mysterious sudden death, which made me wonder whether someone was under Stragos’ control and didn’t get his antidote.

  8. The Eldren theory is proving quite popular in terms of the parlour passage question. I never would have thought about that but it kind of makes sense. Those Eldren must have been spooky. I feel like whatever it is it’s trapped on that island and trying to lure things to it for whatever purpose.
    I must confess that i’ve now finished reading. I posted my answers and then just picked it up and carried right on. Part of me is now wishing I hadn’t – firstly, it’s now over for me and secondly, I don’t want to give anything away!
    It’s going to feel like a long wait for RoT!
    Lynn 😀

    • When’s the next one coming out? I’m definitely going to have to read it.

      I’ve been curious ever since we started LoLL about the Eldren; they seem so interesting. I can’t think of any other real possibility for the parlor passage other than the fact that Scott Lynch’s world is far bigger than what we’ve been exposed to thus far.

  9. Ezri and Drakasha are prime candidates for getting bumped off since nobody major has been murdered so far. It would be cool if Ezri could join the GB’s and act as their sea-chauffeur/very slow get-away driver… or sailor in this case but would Jean want to start a family with the Bondsmagi hounding him?

    • Very true… I think they’d probably wait to have kids until they knew they’d most likely be able to protect them.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

