Blogoversary, BEA, and the Warbreaker Groupread

Today marks the one-year anniversary of my blog.  I just wanted to take a moment to thank all of you for making it possible.  The book blogging community is a wonderful and supportive place filled with so many nice people who love to talk about books.  It’s something I didn’t expect to find when I started my blog, and I’m so very glad that I did.

I decided to make the trip out to NYC for Book Expo America in early June.  I’ll be in NYC for the conference from June 4-8.  I’ll be very broke afterwards, but it will be entirely worth it just to get to hang out with so many bookish people gathered in one place and learn more about where the book industry is headed.  I’m incredibly excited.  Many thanks to Memory for being my BEA roommate!  🙂

In other news, Naithin and Amanda are hosting a groupread of Brandon Sanderson’s “Warbreaker.”  I was a bit hesitant to add another groupread when I’m already doing the “Neverwhere” and “Red Seas Under Red Skies” readalongs, but I am going through Sanderson withdrawal.  Brandon Sanderson’s books are that good.  I found a copy of “Warbreaker” earlier this week at a “Take a book, leave a book” library in a random coffee shop, so I’m pretty sure that the universe is telling me that I need to be a part of this groupread.  For anyone who’s interested, here’s the schedule:

Section One: Prologue – Chapter 12.
Reading: Monday 21 May, Questions Out: Saturday 26 May, Posts: Tuesday 29 May.

Section Two: Chapter 13 – Chapter 23.
Reading: Tuesday 29 May, Questions Out: Saturday 2 June, Posts: Tuesday 5 June.

Section Three: Chapter 24 – Chapter 34.
Reading: Tuesday 5 June, Questions Out: Saturday 9 June, Posts: Tuesday 12 June.

Section Four: Chapter 35 – Chapter 49.
Reading: Tuesday 12 June, Questions Out: Saturday 16 June, Posts: Tuesday 19 June.

Section Five: Chapter 50 – End.
Reading: Tuesday 19 June, Questions Out: Saturday 23 June, Posts: Tuesday 26 June.

Sign-ups are over here at Once Upon a Time.  Feel free to join in!

Categories: Other | Tags: , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Blogoversary, BEA, and the Warbreaker Groupread

  1. Congratulations on your first anniversary!
    WARBREAKER sounds interesting – I added it to my goodreads ‘to-read’ list. I don’t think I have the braincells to read RED SEAS UNDER RED SKIES at the same time so I’ll look forward to reading WARBREAKER sometime in the future.

    • Thanks! All of Brandon Sanderson’s books are awesome, and I’d highly recommend them when you get a chance. 🙂

  2. Congratulations on one year! The book blogging community really is wonderful, and like you, I hadn’t expected that when I started blogging. Here’s to many more great years of blogging!

  3. Congratulations on your blogoversary! And have a wonderful time at BEA!

  4. Congrats! I just hit my one year mark as well. And have fun in NY! I’m heading there in July, and am super stoked to get back to the old stompin’ grounds. I miss NYC. It’s the only place I can be completely ignored amongst millions of people.

    • Congrats to you as well!

      I used to take trips to NYC periodically in college because the pizza is fantastic and it’s such a great place to wander around and not run into anybody that I know. I haven’t been there for a couple years though, so I’m excited to go back.

  5. Congratulations on the blog-aversary! Since one year is the paper anniversary does this mean you should celebrate with a new book or two?

    • Of course! I celebrated via Kindle specials; I got a copy of “The Day of the Triffids” and a couple Paolo Coelho’s books. 🙂

  6. Happy Blogoversery!!!! Enjoy NY swing by Strand bookstore if you get a chance, but make sure you take an extra bag to pack in books.

    • Thanks! Strand bookstore looks like a place that I’d enjoy a lot! I’ll have to stop by and check it out! 🙂

  7. Congrats on the year! It is a fun community and I’m so glad I started blogging. Question: How long is the Sanderson novel. I’m tempted, but also worried since I have a lot going during that time…but it is Sanderson.

    • Hey TBM, depends on the edition you get, Gollancz edition is 669 pages. Roughly speaking, about the same as Mistborn.

    • Thanks! It’s so much more awesome than I ever expected it to be. 🙂

  8. Congratulations to your anniversary and have fun at the BEA. I hope you will tell us all about it.

  9. Congratulations on making it through the one year mark! That can be pretty tough as a blogger!

    I’ve only been a relatively recent reader, coming along into the book blogging community when I joined up with Hannah, but I’ve enjoyed your posts and comments since. 🙂

    Also! Exceptionally glad that you have signed up for the Warbreaker readalong, I hope it doesn’t get too stressful doing so many at a time, but certainly looking forward to see your thoughts! 🙂

    • Thanks! I’m surprised that I managed to keep up with blogging for this long, and I have no intention of stopping. 🙂

      I can’t wait to start reading Warbreaker. Three readalongs at a time will be a bit tough, but I was planning Warbreaker anyway, so it works out well.

      • I think my personal record for blogging solo on a single blog consistently is about 8 months. I’ve had a couple blogs which ‘technically’ passed the year-long mark, but had a month or two break (or three, in one case) earlier in their lives. xD

        So yes, I know how hard it can be to keep going a year straight, I envy people who can manage it! Very much well done.

        Also! As a quick note, the sign-up link might be better going straight to the post at http://onceuponatime.jaedia.net/?p=6196 if that’s OK with you, linking to main blog page might be a bit confusing when a few more posts pile up on top, although I have placed an ‘Events’ button-tagger-thinger for it on the side as well to help out. 🙂

        • Just fixed the link.

          This was my first time consistently blogging. When I started I decided that I’d post at least once a week, which seems to have worked out well. Generally I post a lot more than that, but it seemed like a manageable goal.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

