Red Seas Under Red Skies Readalong, Part III

Hey all!  Welcome to week three of the Red Seas Under Red Skies readalong, which is hosted by Andrea over at The Little Red Reviewer.

The adorable picture at the left is “Locke Lamora goes cat-shopping” by missqueenmob.  I wonder if Locke’s luck would have been any different if he wouldn’t have forgotten them.

This week’s discussion questions are written by @ohthatashley.

From this point onward, beware of spoilers.

1. Locke and Jean’s ability to find themselves at the center of a serious mess seems unparalleled. At this point, do you think that Stragos will get the return he expects on his investment in them?

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they won’t betray the pirates, who are actually some pretty cool people.  I’m hoping that Locke and Jean find a way to screw Stragos over while still getting the antidote for the poison.  I don’t think Stragos is going to be too happy to see them though after what Merrain did.

2. Merrain’s activities after our boys leave Windward Rock are interesting. What do you think her plans are?

I’m standing by my theory that Merrain is working for the Bondsmagi.  She’s definitely a double agent for someone who’s out to get Locke and Jean.

3. Does anyone know why having cats aboard the ship is so important?

Because they’re adorable and eat pesky little vermin that would proliferate on the ship while at sea.  Mostly though I think they’re good luck because if something goes wrong you feel so much better about life when a cute little kitty curls up on your lap and purrs.

4. The word “mutiny” creates a lot of mental pictures. Were you surprised? Why or why not?

Something had to go wrong, and once Locke and Jean were left on their own without anyone with sailing experience, they were doomed to fail.  I’m a bit surprised that they survived the mutiny so easily though.

5. Ah, the Poison Orchid. So many surprises there, not the least of which were the captain’s children. Did you find the young children a natural part of the story?

They’re my favorite part of the Poison Orchid story.  The captain can be a pirate, sail a ship, and still have a family.  I love the way that Lynch handles women in his stories; they’re treated just like any other character with no extra fanfare or attention because they’re female.  Why wouldn’t the captain of a pirate ship be a mother with young kids?  Why wouldn’t she be teaching the little ones how to sail (and plunder)?

6. Jean is developing more and more as a character as we get further in to the book. Ezri makes the comment to him that “Out here, the past is a currency, Jerome. Sometimes it’s the only one we have.” I think several interesting possibilities are coming into play regarding Jean and Ezri. What about you?

I hope he realizes that she’s gonna die.  Let’s face it… we haven’t had any other minor characters that we can really get attached to, and Scott Lynch loves killing off characters.  Since there’s more to the series after this one, I’m assuming that Locke and Jean will survive, but I can’t see Erzi making it to the end of this book.  Poor Jean.

7. As we close down this week’s reading, the Thorn of Camorr is back! I love it, even with all the conflict.  Several things from their Camorri background have come back up. Do you think we will see more Camorri characters?

I was so pleased that Locke managed to ake a name for himself in that fight while using his thief skills and trickery.  He even did it all without Jean having to come rescue him!  I loved the banter in that scene as well.  I wonder if our good friend the Spider(s) pay any attention to going on outside of Camorr?

That’s all for this week!  Be sure to pop over to everyone else’s posts to see more RSURS discussions!

Categories: Fiction | Tags: , , , , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “Red Seas Under Red Skies Readalong, Part III

  1. The mutiny felt a bit….easy to me too. I was expecting more action/drama from Locke and Jean. My expectations might have been influenced by the Pirates of the Carribean movies though, so who knows.

    http://blog.akki.me/2012/05/12/red-seas-under-red-skies-read-along-week-three/

    • I definitely expected the mutiny to be a lot more complicated than it was. Their rescue was entirely too easy. They hadn’t even been on the boat long enough to be hungry or thirsty yet!

  2. yeah, have you noticed that so far the pirates are the most moral characters we’ve met? Ok sure, they plunder and steal and throw people overboard, but at least you know what you’re in for. Drakasha and Ezri tell everyone the rules ahead of time. Unlike Stragos, and Requin, and even Merain, who pretty much are all liars.

    Jean absolutely deserves some happiness. why should he be a damn monk because Locke’s relationship was a disaster?

    • They’re the only sympathetic characters aside from Locke and Jean that we’ve seen in the book thus far. I like them a lot, and I hope that nothing bad happens to them. They’re pretty chill people.

      I agree completely that Jean deserves happiness and some fun. He can’t just stop living his life because Locke and Sabetha had a falling out. I’m so curious as to what happened between them that made her go away.

  3. Pingback: Red Seas Under Red Skies read along, part 3 « the Little Red Reviewer

  4. I think it could be fun if Lynch pulls the rug out from under us and has Ezri not shuffle off this mortal coil at the end of the book.

    Am I being too optimistic?

    • Haha, I really hope she survives, but after the last book I’m expecting that somebody has to die.

    • I really hope so too, even if she and Jean don’t end up together. Isn’t it strange that we are now marking everyone for death because of past experience? Anyone would think that we don’t trust Mr Lynch at all! 😀

      • I do the same thing when reading George Martin’s books. I don’t like it when I get attached to characters and then they die, so I’m not sure whether I can let myself get attached to anyone except Locke and Jean.

  5. The fight scene was pretty good. Locke winning a stand up fight isn’t ever going to be on the cards and so his use of trickery, thief agility, and intelligence (and a whole lot of luck) made it pretty entertaining.

    Now that you mention… Ezri is a character who is being built up as a major love interest but isn’t essential to the story… she’s toast. Or maybe Drakasha is toast and she takes over the ship…

    • I like Drakasha though… I hope her kids don’t die. I’m weirdly on edge by the fact that none of my favorite characters have been killed off in this book yet.

      • But Caldris died 😦

        I hope that Drakasha and her children survive as well.

        • Caldris died, but we didn’t see him for that long first. He was a fun character, but it didn’t bother me like Nazca or Bug did.

  6. I have to wonder if the poison Stragos fed them, or the antidote, combats seasickness, as Locke has been OK on the waves. I also have to wonder if it is a masterful ruse – the poison I mean.

    I really hope Ezri doesn’t bite the dust….waves… in this book. Maybe she could just leave Locke and Jean on a desert isle and sail into the sunset and Jean can pine after her for several books.

    • That would be an interesting twist… if they didn’t make it back to Stragos in time but the poison was only a bluff.

    • I’m not sure that the Archon would drily on a bluff, but it would be hilarious if he had: I can hear Locke’s imaginative swearing already! 😀

      • The threat of poison is probably far more cost-effective than actually poisoning his minions. Or maybe they’ll randomly test an antidote and get lucky. Either way, I’m thinking they probably won’t be able to make it back to the Archon in time.

  7. Oh, it never occurred to me Ezri might not make it. 😦
    Probably because I keep thinking Jean deserves a girl to make him happy. But I’m afraid your scenario is rather more possible than the one where Jean ends up with a girl…

    • And now I’m upset because wordpress is making me comment with the stupid wordpress account which is not under my blogger name.

      • I hope Ezri survives, I’m just afraid that she will because there’s legitimately nobody else that we’d care about dying other than Locke and Jean. 😦

  8. Pingback: Red Seas Under Red Skies Read Along Part III « Darkcargo

  9. I was pleased with Locke in that fight – it was brilliant. It’s a good job he was thinking on his feet because Jean was busy watching somebody else’s back at that point!
    Ha – look at you being all cynical about Lynch killing his characters off – I like your style!
    Lynn 😀

    • I was so glad he didn’t further embarrass himself, lol. He had some major disasters and major luck on his pirate venture.

      Is it weird that seeing Jean with Erzi made me even more curious about Locke and Sabetha?

      • The thought that Locke was so devastated that no one else dared to have a romance is pretty intriguing.

        • Yeah. Jean definitely should go get some though; the world doesn’t revolve around Locke’s love life and he needs to stop being a baby about it.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

