Mistborn Groupread, Part V

This groupread has flown by!  This week’s discussion covers the last section of “Mistborn:  The Final Empire” by Brandon Sanderson.  If you haven’t read the book, you should not read the rest of this post, as it will include major spoilers.  I’ll be posting a spoiler-free review of the book in a couple days for anyone who hasn’t been following along.

The above Mistborn fan art is The Ash is Falling by LadyUranus.

Carl wrote this week’s discussion questions.  Check out his blog for links to everyone’s discussions.

1.  So, what do you think of Kelsier’s plan now? Or his ‘plan within a plan’?  How do you feel the late introduction of the kandra and how it fit into Kelsier’s plan?

The Kandra is so interesting.  We knew the whole time that there was something off about Renoux, and now we know what it is.  I like the connection to the Mistwraiths; it makes me even more curious about what happened when the Lord Ruler took power.

On one hand I’m still very sad about Kelsier’s death, but it did provide the cataclysmic event necessary to snap the skaa out of their complacency and make them stand up.  Kelsier’s been planning this ever since Mare’s death, and he knew he was going to sacrifice himself.  The plan worked, but I don’t think Kelsier believed that the Deepness was real.  Whatever it is, they’re going to have to fight it without him now.

2.  The final section of the book was very Vin-centric.  How do you feel about the choices she made and did you have any worries/fears about what might happen to her before everything was resolved?

I was worried when the Eleventh Metal didn’t work.  I had guessed that the Lord Ruler was both a Feruchemist and an Allomancer, which would have been the key to his defeat.  Honestly though my biggest panic was when Vin was in her cell and they brought Sazed in.  I was terrified that they’d torture and/or kill him.  I breathed a big sigh of relief when I realized that he’d intended to get himself captured.

3.  After all that we find out that the Lord Ruler wasn’t the prophesied one after all.  Surprised? Had you figured it out?  What thoughts do you have about the big reveal, including how it tied into Sazed’s people?

I hadn’t guessed it, but it makes so much sense.  I was very sympathetic toward the Lord Ruler of the journals and had a hard time reconciling that man who had such good intentions with the tyrant ruling Luthadel.  Since the Lord Ruler was a fake, it makes sense that he’d want to stifle the Terrisman prophecies as well as any information that his claim isn’t legitimate.  The thing that still worries me though is that even the fake Lord Ruler seemed to be very worried about The Deepness.  If it can freak out a man who can execute and torture his own people on a whim, it must be some pretty scary stuff.

4.  There was some back and forth about Elend throughout the story and we finally got to see him take a greater stand.  Any predictions about what might happen in book two with Elend taking on leadership duties?

I’m guessing that Elend is going to replace Kelsier as a point-of-view character.  I like that they put him on the throne; his education seems to uniquely prepare him for leadership, and his ties to House Venture give him a legitimate enough claim in the eyes of the nobility to represent a greater deal of stability than if an unknown were to take the throne.  Yes, he’s a bit naive, but he’s got Vin and crew to back him up and tell him if he starts getting out-of-hand.

Also, I’d have loved to see the look on his face when he was trying to save Vin only to realize that she’s a full Mistborn and can kick Inquisitor ass.  I hope he doesn’t feel too intimidated by her.

5.  Lastly, provide a little wrap up of your experience with the book.  What do you think Sanderson’s strengths are?  How does this book stack up against other fantasies you’ve read?

Sanderson is one of my favorite fantasy authors because he’s so unique.  His stories aren’t just a rehashing of Tolkein, and I love that they’re all interconnected.  His fight scenes are so vivid that you can picture every detail.  All in all, he’s just fantastic.  Also, he needs to write faster.  Just saying…

Categories: Fantasy, Fiction | Tags: , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Mistborn Groupread, Part V

  1. Hi Grace
    I really enjoyed this group readalong – so interesting and sparked such a lot of discussion.
    The Kandra – not sure I like them, you definitely would need them to be on your side – puts me in mind of The Thing! Ew.
    I was never scared on behalf of Vin but now you mention it I realise I was scared, and shocked when Sazed was captured. I was like, noooooooo! Really, if Sazed had died as well the dummie would have been coming out! Such a relief when he turned into the hulk (Naithin’s natty description – which I’ve decided to pilfer)
    Plus, even though I didn’t like it, I agree that Kelsier’s death provided the spark for the skaa rebellion. I like the fact that TLR has now gone and we can look forward to some whole new impending disaster in book 2!
    Lynn 😀

    • I think it would be neat to see if we learn more about the kandra’s own perspective and how they were created. If they’re tied to the Mistwraiths, then they’re also tied in part to TLR’s power. I wonder if they liked him or not.

      I’m still mourning Kelsier. He’s been added to my list of favorite characters who met tragic ends. There are far too many of those, lol.

  2. During Vin’s capture when Sazed was brought in I was completely worried that I would begin to hate Sanderson. After losing Kelsier, I thought he had every intention of describing torture scenes with Sazed. This would have been too much for me. Fortunately Sazed proved smarter than his tormentors. Those library people have a few tricks up their sleeves 🙂

    I worry about the Deepness. Why did the Lord Ruler fear it so much? And why didn’t Kelsier? Kelsier was a hero at the end of this novel but I wonder if people will start to dislike his actions in the upcoming book.

    • Seeing Sazed in that scene made me respect him even more than I already did. It also makes me wonder more about the potential of Feruchemy and what it can do.

      I don’t think that Kelsier believed that the Deepness was real. He thought it was a power ploy for the Lord Ruler rather than something very big and very scary. I can’t wait to learn what it is!

  3. I too was worried that Sazed would be tortured, and was quite pleased to see his power put into action.
    I was very glad to see that the hero in the journals did not turn evil.

    I think I may be in the minority, I really do not mind the length of time it takes my favorite authors to produce their books. The writing is quality thus worth the wait. Besides, I have a lot of other books to read in the meantime. 😉

    • I get impatient because when I get caught up in a good story I don’t like to stop. My solution is often to just wait until the whole series/trilogy has been released before I read them.

      Sazed is probably my favorite character in the entire book. I worry for him because he’d be an ideal candidate for Sanderson to kill off.

      • I can u doers tank why you would want to wait to start reading a series once it is complete. The tng is, for me, most of the series that I really like reading are tomes…1000+ pages. I could not read several in a row so the break between books is healthy for me.. Although, it certainly makes parse for each authors health. 🙂

        By the way, I really love the fan art you featured. I think that one is my favorite of the mistborn fan art I have seen.

        • Thanks! I love looking for fan art during longer groupreads; some of it is really fun. 🙂

        • Oh my gosh…steel check did me in.
          My first sentence should read …
          I can see why you would want to wait….

          And it does not make me “parse” for each author, rather it makes me “pray”.

  4. Mistwraiths with wardrobes – scary and useful at the same time. Gives some credence to being afraid of the mists and of mist spirits that can damage a person. I am looking forward to learning more about the kandras – how many, do that have a society, are they against TLR, or are they more like mercenaries?

    • Yes. They seem like they could be dangerous if they decide to work for the wrong people.

  5. You are so right about the Deepness: that moment when Vin realizes that the Lord Ruler was using the present tense when suggesting that he was protecting everyone. This is going to be a massive problem for them, I’m afraid. 😦

    • Yup. I like that though. I had thought at first that we’d have three books of defeating The Lord Ruler, but now he’s gone and there are even bigger problems for Vin and crew.

  6. Totally with you on wishing I could see Elend’s face and Vin flew over his head. 😀 I love that scene to pieces!

    And yeah…I hadn’t really thought about the Deepness with any concern prior to the Lord Ruler’s last words. It was just something from so long ago, not of any current relevence to me. And then, those last words…

    • Maybe the Hero from the journals wasn’t really the hero and the prophecy refers to Vin.

  7. I don’t think that Kelsier planned on killing himself when Mare died, I think it was more of a realization during the course of this novel that he needed to do something drastic or the skaa would never stand up for themselves.

    • I don’t think it was so much the intention to kill himself as the decision that this plan was bigger than his own life. He’s known for a while that it might be necessary for him to die, but Mare’s death was what made him take the plunge into a plan that wasn’t likely to succeed and would mean death if they were caught.

  8. Don’t know if you’ve seen the Avengers yet or not, but the way that team is unified and the way our heroes are unified here are similar. Great stuff.

  9. I want to know where the second set of quotations came from, the ones from beyond the point where the Hero’s journal ‘suddenly ended’.

    Because those ones certainly seemed to be from TLRs Point of View, I don’t see how they could have possibly been from the Hero’s.

    • I had assumed that they were more parts of the journal that we hadn’t seen yet, but now I wonder if they might be something else…

      • All of the quotes were from the same journal. There are sections of the main story where he has a larger part of the journal in there at the same time, but he doesn’t have all of it within the text of the story. Vin comments at one time when Sazed is going to finish translating the journal because it cuts off at the end, and Sazed replies that he’s finished with it. The journal ends when Rashek kills the author.

        • I still wasn’t convinced that was the case, since some of the events detailed in the chapter headings seem to be chronologically after the point where Rashek killed the Hero.

          So, I dug into one of the several Sanderson and Mistborn wiki’s around the place and found the answer. If these points were referenced in book 1, I’ve somehow forgotten them, but I seem to recall them coming up in latter books, so minor potential spoiler warning for next paragraph.

          I found the name of the Hero and some of his history prior to being ‘discovered’. This history could well mean that the source material of the quotes are all his after all. As well as they fit the more current TLRs situation, they could equally go back to the hero. Very interesting!

          End Spoilers

  10. Pingback: Mistborn Group Read, Part Five – The End – Once Upon A Time

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

