March 2012: A Month in Review (and new books)

March has been a relatively slow month for me, as I spent much of it trying to enjoy the weather before the allergies kicked in.  I read a couple review copies that I had received, but I haven’t really made any progress with ongoing reading challenges.  I’ve been participating in a readalong hosted by Little Red Reviewer of Scott Lynch’s novel “The Lies of Locke Lamora,” which I’m enjoying tremendously thus far.

During the next couple months I’m going to be participating in the Once Upon a Time VI Challenge.  This means I’ll be focusing my reading on fantasy, myth, and fairy tales.  One of the first things on the agenda is a groupread of Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson (see the link if you’re interested in joining).  I’m also toying with participating in a readalong of the sequel to Lies of Locke Lamora, although I haven’t decided yet.

And now for the fun part…  My boyfriend and I went back to the Book Bank this weekend, and I found some treasures!

  • “Imajica” by Clive Barker – I bought this one because I thought it might be a good book for Once Upon a Time.  I read Barker’s “Weaveworld” last year for RIP and loved it.  It was one of those books that I was sad to finish because it was so good.  If “Imajica” is even half as good then I’ll be happy.
  • “The Snow Queen” by Joan D. Vinge – The Michael Whelan cover says it all.  The book seems like a loose sci-fi interpretation of the Hans Christian Anderson fairy tale.
  • “The Sandman:  Book of Dreams” edited by Neil Gaiman – Short stories based on the Sandman mythos.  I’m about halfway through the graphic novel “Sandman:  Endless Nights” and am loving it thus far.
  • “Singer from the Sea” by Sheri S. Tepper – Feminist sci-fi.  The description reminded me a bit of Margaret Atwood’s “The Handmaid’s Tale.”

After I was done browsing at the bookstore we went to the comic book store.  While I was there I found a copy of the art book “Michael Whelan’s Works of Wonder” tucked away in a corner.  It is filled with some of Whelan’s best cover art and explains some of his thought processes behind individual pieces, including his artwork for Asimov’s Foundation Trilogy.  I’m loving it thus far!

Has anyone else gotten any interesting new books lately?

Categories: Month in Review, Other | Tags: , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “March 2012: A Month in Review (and new books)

  1. Hi there Grace, I am a HUGE Clive Barker fan. I’ve read Weaveworld a number of years back. You should check out The Great and Secret Show and Galilee too. Not to forget, ABARAT. The third book (Absolute Midnight) just came out, and I’m looking forward to rereading the entire series before I even crack open the latest one. I heard that the books will be made into a film, as well. I have a feeling that it would fit your Once Upon a Time reading challenge. Do let me know if you find it. I also have Imajica and a fellow Barker fan told me that it’s his best book. I have my own copy (in fact I have two copies of Imajica) and I also bought the second book, did you know that there’s a sequel? It’s Imajica II: Reconciliation. 🙂

    • Oooh, awesome. I’ve been wanting to read more Barker ever since reading Weaveworld, and I was so excited when I found a copy of Imajica. I’ll keep a lookout for the books you recommended next time I head off to the used book store, as I think they had a couple of those. His writing is so good! When I read the intro to Weaveworld, I thought he was being pretentious about his own work, and by the time I was done with the first chapter I was like “Nope, he can be as pretentious as he wants, he’s that good.” I didn’t know that there was a sequel to Imajica, but I’ll have to find it once I finish with this one. 😀

  2. That’s a great haul! Love the Sandman cover.
    I’ve not bought anything recently – I’ve decided I can only buy a new book when I’ve read at least two from the tbr – plus I’ve had a major sort out and actually have 10 bags of books to get rid of! I really hate doing it and in fact some of them I haven’t even read but I know that I won’t do now so what you gonna do? I have to be firm – although I suspect I might sneak a few back out before the bags leave…
    Lynn 😀

    • Thanks! I’ve been buying a lot of books over the past year or so because while I was in college I didn’t really buy any books to read for fun. I’m making up for lost time. 😛

      Sounds like you have a good system for not going overboard on new books.

  3. I’ve not been book shopping lately–lately meaning the past two weeks.

    I’m trying to whittle down the TBR pile both physical books (purchased and library) and the digital ones on the Kindle.

    But there are so many temptations out there! So many!

    • I’ve been trying to do that, but there are just so many good books out there. I’m also more likely to overdo it with used books, because they are cheaper and are often the titles that I have a hard time finding anywhere else.

  4. Carl is going to be jealous of the Whelan book! Unless of course he already has it.

  5. I also began reading Mistborn but I am afraid I’ll have no time to join the group read. But I’ll follow if I can. I am about 100 pages into the book. The beginning is promising, although I can’t help but notice some repeatedly used phrases that make the style a bit tired. But hopefully it’s the only book’s flaw 🙂

    • I’m looking forward to reading it. One of the things that I was impressed with in The Way of Kings was Sanderson’s worldbuilding and the way that he was able to create a world that deviated from the typical fantasy landscape. I’m hoping that he does that in this one as well.

  6. Sandman by Neil Gaiman is a great book. I had a lot of vivid and interesting dreams. I’ve been into photojournalism books lately. I haven’t read anything yet, but I’m excited to dig in.

    Happy reading!

    • Thanks! I want to read the Sandman comics, but I’m going to have to wait to get those out of the library because getting the whole series would otherwise be very expensive, and none of the comic book stores around here seem to carry Book 1.

      Photojournalism sounds interesting!

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

