Once Upon a Time VI

“There was one small boy who saw them pass, his nose pressed to the window glass as four, ten, twenty coyotes drifted through suburban yards, headed for some wilder place where the child longed to follow.  Later his mother would tell him it was only a dream, and he would believe her.”  ~Terri Windling, “The Wood Wife”

Today begins the sixth annual Once Upon a Time Challenge, hosted by Carl from Stainless Steel Droppings.  It lasts until June 19.

Once Upon a Time is dedicated to exploring the genres of fairy tale, fantasy, folklore, and mythology.

Everyone is welcome to join!  This was the first challenge that I participated in when I started my blog last year, and it was an extremely rewarding and memorable experience.

The different levels of this challenge are divided into quests (in keeping with the fantasy feel).  I’m going to go for Quest the First, which involves reading five books.  I’m also going embark on the Short Story Quest.

Now, for reading plans!  There are two groupreads scheduled for Once Upon a Time.  In April we’ll be reading the first book of Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series.  In May we’ll be reading “Neverwhere” by Neil Gaiman.

In addition to the groupreads, I’ll be working my way through some of the books that I’ve been collecting for the past year.  I made a shelf on Goodreads with my potential choices.  (Let me know if it doesn’t work; I don’t use Goodreads as often as I should.)

What is everyone else planning on reading?

Categories: Fantasy, Other | Tags: , , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time VI

  1. Ooh, I saw McKinley, Marillier and De Lint on your shelf…can’t wait to see what you think of their books!

  2. This is going to be my first Reading Challenge, but it seems to be very popular and enjoyable, so fingers crossed.

    Thanks for the shelf with your ideas – I might “borrow” a few of them! 🙂

  3. hooray for OUaT ! I love reading all the lists…except that they wind up adding to MY lists!!!

    • I have that problem too, lol. A lot of my list are books that I saw people reading last year. 😀

  4. I’ll be joining as well but won’t post before Sunday. I didn’t thnk of the Snow Child but that’s an option as well.

  5. Once Upon A Time and R.I.P are my favorite yearly challenges. I love the Goodreads idea, may have to steal it. I’m starting with The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

    • Go for it! I can’t wait to see what you think of The Snow Child; I’ve seen a couple reviews of it and it looks really good!

  6. I had never actually heard of this challenge but it sounds like a lot of fun. I used to read a lot of fantasy novels but have fallen away from it in the past couple of years due to how busy I have been.

  7. L

    love your goodreads bookshelf ideas. I hope you don’t mind by I will likely borrow a few or your reading ideas for my own! I’m looking forward to what you have to share!

  8. You have Trader? Jealous! I think that is one of the de Lint books I can’t get… I need to revisit my list, though. I received The Wood Wife for Christmas. I hope to get to it. I see from your sidebar you are reading it, so I hope you enjoy it.

    I keep forgetting The Privilege of the Sword is a sequel to another book. I have owned that book for ages, but I don’t think I have book 1. I had to laugh to see Haydon on there. I read the first book and rushed out to buy book 2… I still haven’t read it. It has been YEARS! It’s embarrassing…

    And, I read and enjoyed Daughter of the Forest, Widdershins, and Dreams Underfoot and loved all three of them. (Actually, I think for this challenge last year.) Have you read The Onion Girl?

    • I picked up The Privilege of the Sword without realizing that it’s a sequel. I’ll probably end up getting the Kindle version of the first book when I decide to read it.

      I did the same thing as you with the Haydon series. I read the first one, bought the second two, and then haven’t gotten around to reading them, lol.

      I’m obsessed with Charles de Lint. I read The Onion Girl last year, and one day will have read/reviewed everything he’s ever written. His books are awesome, and I wanna live in Newford.

      • I want to live there, too! I love Jilly. She is easily one of the best characters in books ever!

        BTW, the reason I was disappointed in Promises to Keep was because there was no new information. It was basically a detailed rehash of things that have all ready happened in The Onion Girl and Widdershins. I also read it like right after Widdershins, so maybe if I had put some space it would have seemed fresher than it was.

        • Jilly’s so cheerful! The Crow Girls are my favorites though. I want to spend time hanging out with them and watching them get into mischief.

  9. I forgot that this was your first challenge. I probably said this last year but it bears repeating, I am honored and humbled and am thankful you are back again.

    Love the quote from The Wood Wife, one of my absolute favorite books from one of my absolute favorite people. Terri Windling is an amazing person and I love reading her blog. I miss the days when Endicott Studio blog was up and running full force but I’m glad she still maintains an online presence.

  10. I’m super excited for this challenge. It was my first reading challenge that I joined and you may not remember, but you introduced me to it. Thanks! I’m hoping to get my post up later today.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

