Lies of Locke Lamora Readalong, Part II

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, and welcome to the second week of the Lies of Locke Lamora readalong!  Stop by here for links to more discussions about the novel.

Instead of using a picture of the book cover for the next few weeks of the readalong, I’ve decided to instead showcase some Locke Lamora fan art that I’ve found.  The image to the left is “father Chains” by TolmanCotton.  I think the artist does a wonderful job of capturing the difference between Chains’ public persona and his secret life with the Gentleman Bastards.

This week’s discussion questions were written by Susan from Dark Cargo.  The following post will contain spoilers.  I’ll post a spoiler-free review after we’re done with the groupread for anyone who hasn’t been following along.

And now, without further ado…

1) Do you think Locke can pull off his scheme of playing a Midnighter who is working with Don Salvara to capture the Thorn of Camorr? I mean, he is now playing two roles in this game – and thank goodness for that costume room the Gentlemen Bastards have!

This was a neat little twist.  Last week Andrea mentioned that there was going to be a torture scene in this week’s readings.  I was fooled at first and thought the Midnighter was real and that Locke was going to be captured.  It was quite a twist to find out that Locke was the Midnighter!  It’s a rather brilliant way to get Salvara to do exactly what he wants.

2) Are you digging the detail the author has put into the alcoholic drinks in this story?

I want recipes.  Also, I thought that Nazca was hilarious when she was trying to get Capa Barsavi to let her have more hard liquor.

3) Who is this mysterious lady Gentlemen Bastard Sabetha and what does she mean to Locke?

I wanna know what happened between them to make her put a thousand miles of distance between them.  It’s pretty clear that he’s still in love with her.

4) Are you as creeped out over the use of Wraithstone to create Gentled animals as I am?

Um, yeah.  I’m even more creeped out by the potential misuses of Wraithstone if it were to get in the wrong hands… Gentled animals would be nothing compared to Gentled people.

5) I got a kick out of child Locke’s first meeting with Capa Barsavi and his daughter Nazca, which was shortly followed up in the story by Barsavi granting adult Locke permission to court his daughter! Where do you think that will lead? Can you see these two together?

Nazca is badass.  She’ll make an awesome Capa (and let’s face it, she’s way better suited for it than her brothers) if she and Locke can manage to change Barsavi’s mind.  I think the two would make a cute team, even if they don’t have feelings for each other, because they seem to think similarly.

6) Capa Barsavi is freaked out over rumors of The Gray King and, in fact, us readers are privy to a gruesome torture scene. The Gray King is knocking garristas off left and right. What do you think that means?

The torture scene made my stomach churn.  Lynch is very descriptive with it.  I wonder if the Gray King has anything to do with the Elders, or whether he has some sort of special power or alchemy that would allow him to influence people without their knowledge.

7) In the Interlude: The Boy Who Cried for a Corpse, we learn that Father Chains owes an alchemist a favor, and that favor is a fresh corpse. He sets the boys to figuring out how to provide one, and they can’t ‘create’ the corpse themselves. How did you like Locke’s solution to this conundrum?

I had expected Locke to get the corpse and go home.  I laughed when I saw the way that he used it first to stage a robbery for sympathy money.  He ended up getting the corpse while at the same time being able to pay Chains back for the money he used for the bribes.  Well played, Locke, well played!

Categories: Fantasy, Fiction | Tags: , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Lies of Locke Lamora Readalong, Part II

  1. I don’t know why I never liked Nazca so much, maybe because she would fit Locke quite well and I’d rather see him staying sweetly grumpy while thinking about his departed sweetheart.
    And I think the torture is just starting, so no heavy meal before reading…

    • I will definitely keep that in mind. I normally can handle torture scenes in books (not movies though), but this one made me feel ill instead of just cringe. I think that it’s a sign of good writing. 🙂

  2. The torture scene didn’t do much for me either and especially not for my lunch that day. I quit eating. Really more description than I needed.

    Nazca would be a badass Capa!

    • I wasn’t expecting it to be so graphic, lol. I don’t know why the sharks didn’t bother me but the torture did.

  3. I also like Nazca a lot and it seems like she’s going to be the next Capa. Sabetha must be really something if she’s got Locke’s attention that badly.

    • I really hope that things work out okay for her; she’s a pretty awesome character and I’d like to see her succeed. If she wasn’t going to be the next Capa, she’d make a fine Gentleman Bastard.

  4. Hey Grace – did you check out Scott Lynch’s post for this week – he gives some feedback on his inspiration for some of the characters – one of them being Chains – can’t help feeling his actual inspiration comes pretty close to the fan art you posted. Check it out:
    http://scott-lynch.livejournal.com/271217.html
    Lynn 😀

  5. Hmm, on we go with answering in a comment:

    2 – Some of the details in Lynch’s writing are very good, but at times they get to be excessive (to be fair, I’m mostly referring to the second book, which I just finished and posted my review for before commenting on this). He has a very thoroughly developed world, but at times tries to show off too much of it.

    3 – Again, just finished the second book, and her past involvement with Locke is only hinted at. Although the teaser for the third book mentions that she’ll play a part in that story, she is only mentioned throughout the first two books.

    4 – In the second book there is mention of a gentled kitten, so I think that Lynch has considered the possibility of how it could be abused.

    7 – Locke really does show off his creativity here, but if I remember correctly the biggest part of this scene was to show that the other children begin to see Locke as really being the brains of the operation.

    1, 5, & 6 really ask what you think is going to happen later. I don’t recall exactly what my thoughts were about those when I was reading the book at the time, but I do remember how they turn out by the end, so I’ll refrain from answering them.

    • Now that I know that she’s not going to show up in the first two books, I’m even more curious about her. So far she’s managed to remain interesting, and I want to know what happened between her and Locke.

  6. Great fan art! I can’t wait to see what else you’ve found!

    ahh, young Nazca and her taste for beer and liquor. I have to wonder how much of that was really apple juice and very watered beer the grown ups were giving her!

    Go to Scott Lynch’s live journal, he’s got a couple of posts about his early outlines and how the story eventually came about:
    http://scott-lynch.livejournal.com/

    • I thought that his post about how the characters evolved over time was fascinating, and I’m glad that they ended up the way they did!

  7. I had the same thought regarding question no. 4. That it can be used on people is too scary to contemplate.
    And good thinking about Grey King possibly having anything to do with Elders – I’m wondering now if there will be a connection.

    • I’m hoping that there is. I’m curious about the Elders. I’m imagining something out of Lovecraft.

  8. Pingback: Lies of Locke Lamora read-along, week two! « the Little Red Reviewer

  9. TolmanCotton’s art is just wonderful! I particularly like the one depicting the start of the Salvara Game. ^^

    Nazca is definitely more Capa material than Anjais and Pachero! Of course, we haven’t seen them much, but it sounds like Nazca command more respect.

    Locke was such a greedy little bastard when he was young. I like it how naturally gaining profit seemed to come to him in that corpse business. 😀

    • I’m wondering if Capa Barsavi’s losing it, considering that the guys he’s torturing clearly don’t know anything and he’s been saying that Nazca would be his successor for years now. He’s scared of something, that’s for sure, and Nazca telling Locke to play along hints that there’s more to this situation than meets the eye.

  10. That’s a really fun picture! I won’t be able to help myself from imagining that face now when I read about chains.
    I’m really jealous of the first time readers – because I already knew that the Midnighter was Locke (being a reread) so I guess you lose that original ‘what??’ moment of revelation.
    Still loving the reread though and feel as though I’m getting so much more out of it this time – especially joining in with all these other readers.
    Lynn 😀

    • I like browsing fan art when I read fantasy. It’s so cool to see how different people interpret the characters. This version of Chains looks so jolly. 😀

      I’m loving the book so far, but I’m so nervous for Locke! I want him to succeed, but I know his good luck can’t last forever.

      • I must admit that I’m also nervous for Locke – which is quite ridiculous when I’ve already read it – or maybe it isn’t ridiculous and just shows the skill of the author.
        I think in terms of No.3 – and this is just me guessing. I like to think that maybe Sabetha was falling for Locke and she couldn’t take it so ran. This is all some silly notion in my head but as the two of them had a rough start and have had to live on their own whits and fend for themselves I think neither of them will be too happy about being dependent on someone else – it probably scares the bejezus out of them! I can’t wait to find out more in No.3.
        I did read a little back story of Lynch’s about when Locke first went to the thiefmaker – Little Red Reviewer sent me the link – it was a really good story – you should ask her for the link (as I’ve taken a look and seem to have deleted mine). Gives you a bit more insight into the early years and I think you will enjoy it (unless you’ve already seen it that is)!

  11. nrlymrtl

    Nazca is bad-ass! I would love to see more done with her character.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

