I went book shopping again…

This weekend I discovered The Book Bank in Old Town Alexandria. The Book Bank is a relatively small used bookstore with the best sci-fi/fantasy section of any bookstore that I’ve been to in the DC area.  I had gone there with the hopes of finding some old Robert Silverberg paperbacks, and was more than successful.  Here’s what I picked up (in no particular order):

  • “The World Inside” by Robert Silverberg – One of Silverberg’s more popular titles.
  • “Dying Inside” by Robert Silverberg – The title sounds a bit emo, but the story does look good.
  • “The Book of Skulls” by Robert Silverberg – I selected this one somewhat randomly, but it was nominated for a Hugo and a Nebula.
  • “Sassinak” by Anne McCaffrey and Elizabeth Moon – Space pirates?  Yes, please!
  • “Trader” by Charles de Lint – Because I don’t think that I’ve read enough Charles de Lint books yet…
  • “The Dispossessed” by Ursula K. LeGuin – I had wanted to read this during the Science Fiction Experience but ran out of time.
  • “Firebird” by Mercedes Lackey – Based on a Russian folk tale.  It seemed a perfect choice to start out Once Upon a Time.

Earlier in the week, my boyfriend and I went to a comic book store.  I don’t read many graphic novels, but I saw a copy of Neil Gaiman’s “Sandman:  Endless Nights” and decided to give it a try.  The artwork is beautiful, and the story is entertaining thus far.

I was also browsing the Kindle specials last week and bought Neil Gaiman’s “Neverwhere” and Ransom Riggs’ “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.”  I’ve read a lot of good things about both books, and was excited to find them on sale!

Has anyone read any of these, and if so, how are they?

Categories: Other | Tags: , , , | 33 Comments

Post navigation

33 thoughts on “I went book shopping again…

  1. Hey, I’m the owner of Book Bank – thanks for the compliments! We have a couple of sci-fi fans working here (I’m one of ’em), so we try to keep that section well-stocked! I’m excited to have another blog to read, too!

    As for comments on the mentioned books…

    Firebird – I don’t generally read a lot of Mercedes Lackey, but I LOVE this book. I really like retelling of fairy tales when they are done well, and in my opinion, she did a great job here!

    Neverwhere – I am a huge fan of Gaiman’s writing. This is a wonderful book, and if you like it (and the Sandman stories…so good!), I would recommend American Gods and Anansi Boys. In my opinion, they are two of his best works.

    Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – I was so excited to read this book, and it was fun to read, but it didn’t live up to my expectations, unfortunately. I think I wanted it to be more dreamy and fantastical, and it like the author made up a set of rules and then explained them all to me. I enjoyed it, but I felt a little let-down. I ended up comparing it to Mechanique by Genevieve Valentine (I heard about them both around the same time), which I really enjoyed. Too high of expections, I think…

  2. Ooooh, lots of Silverberg winners there! I know he’s got some pulp floating about, but I just love him. your “emo” comment cracked me up!

    I’m very interested in your thoughts on the Lackey as well, I haven’t read her in years and I’m a total sucker for anything Russian-esque.

    • I was excited to find him, because most bookstores here don’t keep any of his stuff in stock, and I prefer to buy from physical bookstores because I discover awesome new books that way.

      I’ve never read anything by Lackey yet, but I’m very curious about Firebird, especially since one of my friends and I saw a ballet interpretation of it earlier this year. I love anything even remotely related to Russia, and I also love modern interpretations and retellings of folk tales and fairy tales, so I’m hoping that it’s as good as it sounds! 😀

  3. ooh, lots of Silverberg awesomeness there! Sure, he’s got some crappy pulp floating about, but I just adore him. And Firebird looks awesome too, I’m always a sucker for anything Russian-esque.

  4. I’ve read “Trader” and while I enjoyed it, it’s not my favorite DeLint.

    That said, I’ve not encountered a “bad” De LInt novel or story yet.

    • I’ve read a lot of de Lint’s books and haven’t read one yet that I’ve disliked, although I will say that some are better than others and that his early writing could have used a better editor. I like the way that he is able to inject a mythic quality to modern life.

  5. Great books. I haven’t read any Silverberg yet but I remember you reviewed him before and it sounded very good. Mercedes Lackey is another aozthor on the list I’d like to get to. Roll on Once Upon A Time.

    • It can’t come soon enough! I’ve been stocking up on Once Upon a Time books since last year’s challenge ended.

  6. First, I love Old Town Alexandria! Second, I love used bookstores. So I’m extremely jealous, but very happy for you for finding such a treasure. I haven’t read the books but I’m curious to hear what you think of them. Happy reading!

    • It’s such a cute neighborhood! The only downside to this bookstore is that it closes at 6 every day, which makes it pretty much impossible for me to get to during the week.

      • Just wanted to mention – we actually close at 7 on Fridays and Saturdays, and we’ll extend our closing time to 8pm every day during the summer. 🙂

  7. The World Inside! be warned! hehe…. I loved it.

    • I’m excited to read it! I decided after reading Nightwings that I need to read more Silverberg. He’s such a good writer!

  8. Wow, good job in getting The Sandman Endless Nights!

  9. cookiejarprincess

    I read Neverwhere several years ago, it was only the second Gaiman I had read and I liked it a lot. He definitely has a different perspective. I read Miss P… last month and I really enjoyed it. The story kept me interested and the pictures that are included in the book give it a whole new dimension. I was very happy to learn that Riggs is working on a second book.

    • The only Gaiman that I’ve read so far was “Fragile Things,” but I enjoyed a lot of the short stories in it and am excited to see how he does with a full-length novel.

      • cookiejarprincess

        I’ve never read any of his short stories. I’m just not a fan of short stories in general, but I also enjoy his YA work.

        • I think the biggest problem with reading a collection of short stories is that I tend to absolutely love some of them, but a lot of them just don’t stick out to me. They’re very hit or miss.

  10. Oh, great finds! Amazing how a small bookstore could produce such beautiful treasures. I look forward to your thoughts on these books. Personally, I would like to read Firebird myself. 🙂

    • Thanks! When I saw Firebird I couldn’t pass it up, especially because a friend and I saw a ballet production based on the same legend a couple months ago. Fairy tales are so much fun.

  11. You got some good books there – I loved Neverwhere and I really want the Miss Peregrine book – I’ll wait for your review of that one and see what you think.

    Lynn 😀

    • I’m curious about Miss Peregrine’s. I’ve seen a lot of people review it and almost everyone who’s read it seems to love it. I’ll let you know how it is!

      • Strangely enough I was actually put off reading it at first because it had pictures in it – I wondered what was going on with that? But then I read some really good reviews and actually went to buy it a few weeks ago and the bookstore had ran out of copies – I wondered if it was an omen.
        Happy reading.
        Lynn 😀

        • I’m curious how the photos will work with the story. I think that it is an interesting idea to include pictures in a book that isn’t a flat-out children’s book. It’s something I don’t see very often.

  12. Is there such a thing as reading “enough” of Charles de Lint? 😉 I’m very excited about diving back into his work in the coming months. The recent Spring-like weather has brought on the de Lint urge.

    Nice finds! I hope you enjoy the Silverberg. My first experience with his fiction earlier this year was a good one and I’ll be picking up more in the future.

    And Hooray for Neverwhere and Miss Peregrine. I hope the pictures are included in the Miss Peregrine book because they are an integral part of the story, in my opinion. Keep in mind that I am really strongly leaning towards hosting a Neverwhere read along sometime later in the Spring/Summer. Would love to have you take part in that one.

    • A groupread of Neverwhere would be fantastic!

      I’m really excited about the Silverberg; I read “Nightwings” earlier this year and loved it. If these books are even half as good I’ll be happy.

  13. Neil Gaiman’s Sandman is an amazing book. I hope you enjoy that as well as the other titles!

    • Thanks! I’m excited to read it, especially since I’ve only read his short stories before.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

