January 2012: A Month in Review

I haven’t felt the need to do a “Month in Review” post before, but since I’m participating in more reading challenges and events this year, it seems like a good time to start.

During January, I participated in my first and only blog meme, Short Stories on Wednesdays, which is hosted by Breadcrumb Reads.  I won’t be participating every week, as I’m trying to balance work, grad school, blogging, and trying to have a life, but I’m enjoying joining in when I can.  This month I read Gogol’s The Overcoat and Lovecraft’s The Call of Cthulhu.

During January, I participated in Vintage Sci-Fi Month, hosted by The Little Red Reviewer.  I hadn’t read much older sci-fi before, and this event served as a great introduction!  I read five books for the event:

  1. “The Time Machine” by H. G. Wells – 1895
  2. “Nightwings” by Robert Silverberg – 1968
  3. “The Foundation” by Isaac Asimov– 1951
  4. “The War of the Worlds” by H. G. Wells – 1898
  5. “Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions” by Edwin A. Abbott – 1884

Vintage Sci-Fi Month meshed well with The Science Fiction Experience, hosted by Carl from Stainless Steel Droppings, which runs until the end of February.

As far as year-long challenges go, I’m making some progress.  I’ve read 8/24 books toward the Speculative Fiction challenge, hosted by Baffled Books.  Since I’ve been reading so much already, I’d like to shoot for the “Obsessed” level, which requires 48 books.  For more info on what I’ve read for ongoing challenges, see Reading Challenges 2012.

Over the past few months, I’ve also been participating in a variety of readalongs with a great group of bloggers.  We’re currently tackling Asimov’s Foundation Trilogy–see The Foundation Groupread, Part I, The Foundation Groupread, Part II, and Foundation and Empire Groupread, Part I.  We’ll be finishing “Foundation and Empire” and then reading “Second Foundation” this month.

As far as other February reading and reviewing plans go, I’m currently reading Anne McCaffrey’s “The Rowan” and am hooked.  When I’m done with that, I’ve been told by no less than five people that I need to read “The Hunger Games” NOW.  I’m planning on reading it before the movie is released.  I have a couple of review copies of books to read, and I’d like to finally begin a monthly or bi-monthly Poetry Spotlight.  I’ll also be reviewing a ballet that I saw a few weeks ago.

Happy February!

Categories: Month in Review, Other | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “January 2012: A Month in Review

  1. Looks to have been a very good January! I’m so happy you are participating in the SF Experience and also in the Foundation group reads. It has been great having you in the mix and its a lot of fun to pop over onto various book reviews and see that you’ve been there before me.

    • Thanks! I’m enjoying the SF Experience tremendously; normally I don’t think that I’d get around to reading so much sci-fi, but I’ve loved every book that I’ve read for this not-a-challenge!

  2. Hi,
    You plan on keeping very busy! Good challenges and post. I must admit that I have so many books now waiting to be read that I really must stop adding to it – but I can’t! I think I have a problem. (Do you think it will help if I admit it?)
    Good luck with all your goals and look forward to reading your comments on the readalong for Foundation and Empire.
    Lynn 😀

    • It doesn’t help, alas, lol. When I started my blog last May, I was at a point where I didn’t own any fiction that I hadn’t read. I tried cataloging all the unread books that I’ve acquired since then on Goodreads and stopped halfway through because I decided that I really didn’t need to know the number… 😀

      I’m loving the Groupread so far, and I’m excited for Sunday’s discussions!

      • Wait… the discussions are on Sundays this time? I think I missed that…ooops! I may have to post mine on Monday. I’ll do my best.

        • I posted mine on Monday this week, lol, and then it looked like everyone else had posted the day before…

  3. You’re definitely keeping yourself busy! I’m faltering a little on all my challenges, but I like how your post here makes me think, “Ooh, I should do that, too. Oh! Or I could do that!” I have to stop myself and go “No! Finish this FIRST.”

    Awesome January, Grace! Here’s to an even better February. : )

    • Thanks! I probably won’t have as much time this month as I did in January since classes finally started up again. I miss summer…

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

