Vintage Science Fiction Month Not-A-Challenge

Here’s one more last-minute blog event.  During January, Andrea at The Little Red Reviewer is hosting the Vintage SciFi Not-a-Challenge.

For the purposes of the event, “vintage” applies to books published during or before 1979.  This Not-A-Challenge pairs well with Carl’s Science Fiction Experience, and the only reason that I didn’t immediately sign up for this one was that I wasn’t sure whether I’d be reading any books that would count for both.

So far, I’m definitely down for the groupread of Asimov’s “The Foundation.”  The first post for that will be on Monday.

I’m also reading Robert Silverberg’s “Nightwings” and H. G. Wells’ “The Time Machine.”

As a little side note that’s completely unrelated, I cleaned up the Upcoming Reviews section of my blog, which was quickly turning into a catalog of my TBR list.  While cataloging is fun, the list that I had there wasn’t at all useful to me or anybody else.  I’ve decided that now I’ll keep changing it to reflect what I’m currently reading instead of letting my librarian instincts get the better of me, tehe…

Categories: Other | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Vintage Science Fiction Month Not-A-Challenge

  1. Hey Bookswithoutanypictures,
    I just stumbled across this and, A few weeks back I came across a book that caught my interest. I was going to pick it up but I’ve lost the link and can’t remember what it was called.

    It’s a slightly older novel but not exactly vintage. As far as I remember, the plot was futuristic and something about a group of teens put into some sort of mysterious game. It was geared towards the Young Adult or teen audiences. It’s definitely a science fiction. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

    P.S – And no it’s not The Hunger Games or Battle Royale, but something similar in plot.
    Thanks

  2. This sounds like a great challenge! I should try to see if I can find a few books to read. I haven’t read vintage sci-fi in such a long time.

  3. I had hoped to participate in this, too, but I haven’t even found time to read Foundation yet…

    • I’m not all the way through the segments for this week yet, lol. I blame Silverberg and H. G. Wells.

  4. Glad to see you participating in both! My only regret at the moment is that I am not finding as much time as I want to gorge myself on vintage works. But I did finally finish my first last night and am enjoying my re-read of Foundation. Hopefully I can fit some more vintage reading in today while watching the NFL playoffs.

    Happy reading!

    • Thanks! I waited to sign up for this one to see whether I’d get around to reading any vintage sci-fi other than Foundation, and it’s looking like I am. It’s cool to see where the genre gets its roots!

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

