Blogging Resolutions and Reading Goals for 2012

Happy New Year!  Hope everyone has a fun and safe holiday!

I’d just like to take a few moments to go over some reading and blogging goals for the upcoming year.

At the moment, I’m signed up for three year-long Reading Challenges.  Carl from Stainless Steel Droppings also runs a couple of seasonal challenges that I’m looking forward to participating in, including the Science Fiction Experience in January/February, the Once Upon a Time Challenge in the spring, and the RIP Challenge in the fall.  I’m planning on signing up for any interesting groupreads that I come across, as the ones that I have participated in thus far have been such good experiences.  The first of these is a groupread of Asimov’s “The Foundation,” hosted by Carl, which begins on January 1.

I got a Kindle for Christmas, so I’d like to try to include more NetGalley reviews of new or upcoming releases to my blog.  Thus far I’ve mostly reviewed older books, but I would like to present more of a balance between older and newer releases.  In the upcoming year, I would also like to begin a monthly poetry spotlight in order to broaden my knowledge of contemporary poets.

Speaking of Kindles, I published my blog to the Kindle store this week.  I don’t control the subscription price, nor do I want to make money off of my blog, but I did want to put the formatting out there for anyone who is interested in reading it that way.  If anybody knows how to publish WordPress blogs in a Nook/Kobo/etc. format, let me know and I’ll do that as well.

When I began my blog, I promised to post at least once a week, so that I don’t neglect my blog when my class schedule becomes hectic.  This has worked out well so far, and I’ll continue to keep up with that schedule.

This is my 125th blog post, which isn’t bad considering that I’m still relatively new to this.  The Traveling “Catcher in the Rye” – Giveaway with strings attached is my top post thus far, followed by and .

Thanks to everyone in the blogging community for making this past year such a wonderful experience!  When I began this blog, I didn’t expect anybody to actually read it.  Instead, I met so many amazing people who love talking about books and life.  It’s been great, and I’m looking forward to blogging through the new year!

Categories: Other | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Blogging Resolutions and Reading Goals for 2012

  1. Congratulations on getting your Kindle e-reader, Grace! I’ve been asking the husband for one for awhile now. I don’t know if I’m ever going to own one! But, in the meantime, I’m content to read e-books on my PC Kindle.:)

    And all the best with your monthly poetry readings! I’ve also got something similar in mind. But I’m planning on focusing on the classic British poets. One step at a time considering I’m not much of a poetry person!

    • Thanks! I was a bit hesitant about the Kindle at first, but it is great to read on! I don’t know how you manage to read e-books on the computer… I never could; it gave me headaches.

      Poetry is such a neat form of writing; and even with the classics I don’t know nearly enough about it. I look forward to reading your posts!

  2. Happy New Year to you as well, Grace. It has been such a pleasure getting to know you this past year, especially through something as interactive as the group reads. You have brought an interesting perspective to everything we’ve read. Every year my blog gives me gifts, and it is meeting people like you. So thank you! Hope 2012 is an even better year for you.

    • Thank you! Participating in your groupreads and challenges pretty much as soon as I started blogging was one of the things that made me love it so much! Happy New Year!

  3. I see you have read Anton Chekhov’s The Lady with the Dog and Madeline L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time. I will be following your blog with interest because I included classics in my list of stories to read and review in 2012. Glad to know you now have a Kindle. There are lots of books out there waiting to be read, though digital in nature. I, too, have a Kindle, but sometimes my hands itch read a paperback copy. Happy New Year!

    New follower,
    Nancy @ Simple Clockwork
    http://www.nancycudis.com

    • I love my Kindle, but real books are also nice. I’ll most likely continue to read both.

      I took a look at your reading goals list; you have some excellent selections on it!

  4. Anonymous

    Wow, I never knew about posting a wordpress blog to kindle/nook, etc! I’m going to have to look into that. One more thing on my 2012 to do list. Your goals are excellent, and I’m looking forward to your future posts. I’m hitting my 200th tomorrow, but lately my reading has been sadly neglected. Your blog helps remind me to keep on reading!

    • Wow, that wasn’t supposed to be anonymous! WordPress is being glitchy today. Happy New Year from The Ugly Bug Ball.

      • It’s a bit annoying though that it won’t let you change the price to zero. At the same time, I tried looking at my blog on Kindle both with and without the formatting, and there’s a world of difference.

        Good luck on your reading, and Happy New Year!

  5. I enjoyed your blog this year and am looking forward to your reviews next year as well, and some fun challenges and readalongs we might be doing together.
    I wish you a wonderful 2012.

    • Thank you! You are one of the first people that I met when I started my blog, and your reviews are always a delight! Happy New Year!

  6. These sound like good goals for next year. I’m going in the opposite way a bit – trying to request less from NetGalley and read some more books I already own. NetGalley is great but I got a bit carried away!

    Happy New Year to you and your family 🙂

    • I decided that to keep from getting too backed up, I’m going to try not to have more than two books requested from NetGalley at any given time. I do wish that they’d sort their sci-fi/fantasy section a bit better though, as I think there are two many romances dumped in there indiscriminately…

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

