“Killashandra” by Anne McCaffrey

This is the first book that I read on my new Kindle!  I was going to wait until January to read this one so that I could count it for some of the upcoming Reading Challenges, but I couldn’t resist.  I’ve done absolutely nothing today because I couldn’t put it down until I finished it.

The only down side to not having a physical copy of this book is that I miss out on the Michael Whelan cover art.

“Killashandra” is the sequel to Crystal Singer.  In this case, I would advise reading the books in order, as McCaffrey doesn’t spend much time examining the events of the first book.

The story picks up after Killashandra’s claim to black crystal was destroyed in a storm.  She still has a crush on the Guild Master, but recognizes that he is taking personal risks because of his attachment to her.  Desperate to get off of Ballybran before the Passover storms, Killashandra accepts an assignment to Optheria to install white crystal in an organ.  It sounds like an ideal situation, as it will get Killashandra away from Ballybran even though she’s low on cash, and comes with a lucrative paycheck.  However, all is not as perfect as it might seem on Optheria, and Killashandra is kidnapped, meanwhile uncovering a plot by subversives against a society that uses mind control to pacify its citizens.  She happens to fall in love with her kidnapper, Lars Dahl, and must use her prestigious position as a Crystal Singer to help deliver justice to the Optherian people while protecting the man she loves.

Oddly enough, I found Killashandra’s love interest in this novel to have a lot more depth than her affair with the Guild Master.  Even though there might be a trace of Stockholm Syndrome in their relationship, Lars Dahl did have valid reasons for kidnapping her, and everything worked out rather well in the end.  Killashandra is a strong female heroine, but there are times that her character comes off as a bit pushy and melodramatic.  I think that her personality worked well in this novel, and she seems to have calmed down a bit since “Crystal Singer”–now she’s only bitchy towards people who fully deserve it, and it’s generally very satisfying.

One of the things that I loved about both “Crystal Singer” and “Killashandra” is that although they are each part of a trilogy, the novels each have an individual resolution.  This isn’t to say that I’m not chomping at the bit to read the next one, as I’m trying very hard to wait at least a couple hours before I put the next one on my Kindle!

Categories: Fiction, Sci Fi | Tags: , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on ““Killashandra” by Anne McCaffrey

  1. This is a book I’ve loved for years simply because of the Michael Whelan cover. I finally got around to buying a couple of nice copies of it at used bookstores this past year or so. Still haven’t read it (need to pick up the first book) but I definitely want to.

    • I think you’ll like it. I started the third one, which I’ll review for the Science Fiction Experience when I finish it. Killashandra is an interesting heroine because she’s so obnoxiously Type A, but at the same time her determination gets her through adversity, so you forgive her for it.

  2. i just got a new kindle too! i feel a bit bad about not reading real books though. i miss the smell mostly. but also, i like not wasting resources and not feeling guilty about getting rid of books because they take up too much space. this sort of had nothing to do with your post.

    • Haha. I’m loving mine thus far. It’s making it too easy for me to binge-read (even better considering that I’m visiting family in Western PA where there aren’t really close bookstores).

      • i got stranded in irwin, PA (somewhere in the west) for 4 nights when my car broke down. it was possibly one of the worst places in the world.

        • I know exactly where Irwin is. The place where my family lives makes Irwin seem urban, lol. I’m heading back to DC tomorrow though. 😛

  3. I remember whipping through the series years ago, and that’s pretty much all I remember. I suspect it’s time to revisit these books!

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

