Sci-fi? Yes, please!

I recently signed up for The 2012 Science Fiction Experience, only to realize that the only unread science fiction novel that I had in my TBR pile was Asimov’s “The Foundation.”  I decided to remedy this, and headed off to the library book sale.  Here’s what I managed to find:

  • “The Sands of Mars” by Arthur C. Clarke – This was Arthur C. Clarke’s first published full-length novel.
  • “Nightwings” by Robert Silverberg – This one won a Hugo in 1969, which means I can also count it toward the Award Winning Books Reading Challenge 2012.
  • “Damia” by Anne McCaffrey – I was quite saddened by Anne McCaffrey’s death, even though I’ve only read one of her books.  I’d like to remedy that.  This is a sequel to another book, “Rowan,” which I haven’t read, so I’m hoping that it can function as a standalone.
  • “Brightness Reef” by David Brin – The author won Hugo/Nebula awards for other novels, so I figured he’s worth a shot.
  • “Beggars in Spain” by Nancy Kress – The author won a Nebula for a novella of the same title, which she later expanded into a full novel.

I hadn’t really heard of any of the books that I got before I saw them today, but I’m excited to expand my horizons!  Has anyone read/heard of these books, and if so, how are they?

____________________________________

In other news, I’m going to be leaving tomorrow evening on my epic journey home to Western Pennsylvania to visit family for the holidays.  I’ve got a couple posts scheduled for the next few days, but it might take me longer than usual to respond to comments.  Happy holidays!

Categories: Other, Sci Fi | Tags: , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Sci-fi? Yes, please!

  1. Damia can totally stand alone, I think. Good find! The Rowan is great, too. Hope you enjoy your sci-fi over the holidays!

  2. Looks like you found some good ones! I haven’t read any McCaffrey but her covers always draw me in. I’m curious what you think of the sequel. Dare I start yet another series 🙂

    Enjoy your vacation and holidays. See you in the New Year!

    • Thanks! I’m excited to read that one, as I loved Crystal Singer. From what I read on the cover/Wikipedia, it’s told from the perspective of the daughter of a character from the first book, so I’m thinking that I might not need to read them in order. 😛

      Happy holidays!

  3. Anything Robert Silverberg writes is going to be enjoyable, and I had no idea David Brin had another Uplift series! looks like you found some treasures, can’t wait to read your reviews.

    • Awesome! I’m glad I picked decent ones then; I was just trying to find as many that were sci-fi as I could, lol. I’m excited to read them!

  4. You should read Karen Joy Fowler – she writes a lot of science fiction short stories and John Kessel – he has one or two Nebula Awards. Just a few suggestions. 🙂

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

