“The Swing Girl” by Katherine Soniat

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.

“The Swing Girl” is a collection of poems by Katherine Soniat.  As a whole, the poems have a Mediterranean feel and call to mind the frailty of life and the abrupt effect of war on daily life.  Not all of the poems are violent; many call to mind snippets of day-to-day life or recollect mythology.

One of the issues that I always have with collections of poems or short stories is that the individual pieces tend to be hit or miss.  This collection was no different.  Many of the poems didn’t strike me as being particularly memorable, but at the same time, others were spectacular.

I particularly liked Day Spool, which recollected the sound of wind chimes.  I was also a fan of The Cathedral of Chartres, which describes a wedding from a gargoyle’s perspective.  Brocade gave me new perspectives on tornadoes with its vivid imagery of items picked up along it’s path.  Garden Smiles, which describes sitting in a museum cafe, reminded me of afternoons spent at the Hermitage or the Russian Museum when I studied abroad.  The Forest describes the narrator selling her car (somewhat sarcastically).

As a whole, I enjoyed this collection.  I don’t read nearly enough poetry, but I’m hoping to make reviews of poetry collections a more regular part of my blog.

Categories: Poems/Ballads | Tags: , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on ““The Swing Girl” by Katherine Soniat

  1. I read this as well through Netgalley and wasn’t really a fan – but I read way too much poetry (if there can ever be too much poetry) this past year so maybe I was burnt out, haha. 🙂

    • I liked many of them, but I did get the feeling that they weren’t the ones I was supposed to like, but rather the ones that were a bit more experimental and fun. =D

  2. I don’t really read poetry at all. A collection of it would seem almost like a daunting task to me. If I do read them it is usually one here or there…

    • I like poetry, but I don’t read enough of it. Honestly, it’s generally because it isn’t cost effective for me, because I’m a fast reader and will finish a book of poems in an evening. I think that it’s something that I should work on though, and I’d like to read more contemporary poets.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

