“The Day Our Gravity Reversed” by Paul Baxter

I received a review copy of this book from Paul Baxter, the author of the book.  Generally I shy away from self-published books, but the sample quotes for this one intrigued me, and I decided to give it a shot.  This is my first review copy, which is an exciting milestone!

The book is about, as the title suggests, a reversal of Earth’s  gravity, driving what is left of mankind to live underground.  The characters are all the humorous oddball types, and I particularly liked Grace, who talks to the ghost of her dead sister Grace.  This has nothing to do with the fact that I am also named Grace.  I also thought that the idea of the Gherkin, a building-turned-ship, was pretty neat, and the D&D-style cultists were fun to read about.

However, the book did have a lot of flaws.  I think that it has potential, but could have used a couple more drafts before publication to work out some plot holes (such as why the atmosphere remained and wasn’t sucked out into space along with everything else that wasn’t secured).  I thought that the footnotes were unnecessary and a bit distracting.  There was also some cleanup needed on punctuation, grammar, and syntax, particularly with the placement of commas and quotation marks.

This isn’t to say that there weren’t parts that made me laugh–there were.  It just didn’t feel like a finished product, which is something that the author should work on in future publications.

Categories: Fiction, Sci Fi | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on ““The Day Our Gravity Reversed” by Paul Baxter

  1. Hi Grace

    Thanks for the review and feedback 🙂
    I’ve had some similar criticism so the have forked out for a professional proof reader before continuing and re-releasing this title in the next month. I have also incorporated the footnotes into the main text, after a few people have been negative about them. This is all great and very helpful, especially as I know where to start on my new book which is approaching completion. The part about the atmosphere not being sucked out was discussed in the novel though, and referred to the pressure adjusting chamber at the edge of the city to account for the difference in air pressure outside of it. Dr. Prowse also suspected that the reversal could have been caused by the wave disruption cause by orbiting junk such as satellites, so this would justify the low pressured air still being held within the Earth and higher pressure air being further out. It also mentions the way that clouds now rise into the Earth and examples a reversal of the weather system.

    Anyway, I look forward to following more of your reviews and thanks again for the feedback, things like this are invaluable to self published authors!

    All the best and happy Christmas/New Year/hols for extra reading!

    Paul

    • Hi Paul, and thanks again for sending me your book! I think that the ability to go through a book and re-release is one of the really neat things about self-publishing, as writing is definitely a process. Keep up the good work, and happy holidays!

  2. Quite a thorough review. We also tried reviewing one or two self-published books over the past year, but our commentaries resemble yours – so we decided against accepting more review copies at this point. I agree with how narratives get transformed once it has passed through a decisive and laser-beam critical eye – my editing powers are limited to reviewing dissertation and theses papers – and it’s hardly what you would call editing, but more a critique of the methodology, review of literature and the like. 🙂 Glad to have discovered your site.

    • Thanks! It was a frustrating experience, because there were parts of the book that I did enjoy. I just wished that it felt more like a finished product and was better polished.

  3. This seems to be a very common problem with self-publication, which to a large extent is understandable. It’s tough to do all your own editing (or soliciting it from friends). Getting published by a company means they have a dedicated professional team working on streamlining your book.

    I considered self-publication a few times, but ultimately decided against it for this very reason. I know without a lot of help (serious help, not just “sure I’ll read it” help), I would end up with something I thought was great, but from an outside perspective was lacking in a great many areas.

    • Yes. Even in creative writing classes, my stories ended up completely different than they had started out, and I hadn’t thought they needed that many rewrites until I compared the finished product with my original drafts. I’d definitely need someone to tell me what to cut and what to redo, and that person would have to be merciless. I just wish that I had more time for writing… this blog is as close as I’m getting for now, or at least until I’m done with grad school. I’m always impressed with people who manage to make enough time to write and are able to stay focused.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

