Speculative Fiction Challenge 2012

As we approach the end of 2011 (and the fall semester!  yay!), I’d just like to take a moment to introduce a challenge that I’ll be participating in over the course of the next year.  The Speculative Fiction Challenge 2012 is hosted by Baffled Books.  I found out about this blog through Risa at Breadcrumb Reads, who is also participating!

Speculative fiction is a catch-all term that encompasses a variety of genres, including fantasy, sci-fi, horror, and alternate history (and more!).  Many of the books that I read fall under these categories.  I’ll be double-counting books that I read for the Speculative Fiction Challenge in other challenges that I’m planning on participating in, such as the the Sci-Fi Non-Challenge, Once Upon a Time Challenge, and R.I.P. challenge hosted by Stainless Steel Droppings.

I’m going to attempt to reach the “In Nirvana” level of participation, which involves reading 24 books over the course of the year.  Maybe if I’m really ambitious I’ll hit the “Obsessed” level, which involves 48 books!

I generally don’t plan out my reading very well, because I tend to compulsively buy new books.  However, thus far I’ve got a few things that I’m relatively likely to read:

  • “Prophecy” and “Destiny” by Elizabeth Haydon.  These are the second two books in the Symphony of the Ages trilogy, which began with “Rhapsody.”
  • “The Foundation” by Asimov.  I’m planning on reading this one during Carl’s Sci-Fi non-challenge.
  • “The Court of the Air” by Stephen Hunt.  I’ve never read steampunk before, so this will be something different.
  • “Chalice” by Robin McKinley.  I hadn’t heard of it till I saw it at the bookstore on Black Friday, but I love everything by McKinley that I’ve read thus far.
  • “Winter Rose” by Patricia McKillip.  This has been on my TBR list for some time.  McKillip is awesome, and I love the Tam Lin legend.

Of course, these are only a few of the books on my list!  There shall be more to come!

Over the next couple weeks, I probably won’t be posting quite as often as usual.  I’m still here, but we’re approaching finals time, and I’ve been spending most of my time working on schoolwork.  To everyone else still in school–good luck with your finals/papers/projects!

Categories: Other | Tags: , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Speculative Fiction Challenge 2012

  1. Hi Grace! I’m so glad that you will be joining us next year. 😀 I only found this post by luck and noticed that you haven’t added yourself to the linky (so I can stalk our participants ;)). It’s here if you’d like to add yourself. 🙂

  2. I am definitely signing up for this challenge!

  3. Hmmm….This is a challenge I’m sincerely interested in!

  4. I’m so terrible with reading. Ever since I finished school I’ve averaged about 3 books a year. 24 would be mighty impressive.

  5. Most of what I read is speculative fiction, so this would really just be a measure of how many books I read next year. I also know that I’m going to be re-reading the Wheel of Time at some point next year, which by itself would immediately put me into the content category. I’ve read about 100 books this year, and I would imagine that at least 70 of them could easily fall into the speculative fiction category.

    Best of luck getting through your finals and getting through your books next year.

    • Most of what I read tends to fall under speculative fiction as well (I’ve got a small stack of exceptions though!). I decided to do the challenge in part to see what other bloggers are reading and to get more ideas for the future. 😀

  6. A very tempting challenge! 48 books would be a feat. Good luck with finals! Soon you will be able to rest and catch up on some pleasure reading.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

