“Wolf Moon” by Charles de Lint

“Wolf Moon” is one of Charles de Lint’s earlier novels.  It was first printed in 1988.  It’s a bit different than other things that I’ve read by him, as it has a traditional fantasy setting rather than an urban one.

The novel tells the story of Kern, a werewolf who is being hunted by a mad harper.  After being wounded in a confrontation with the harper’s mystical demon pet, Kern is dropped off by some woodland fairies at an inn.  While recovering from his injuries, Kern falls in love with the innkeeper.  Kern fears that if she learns that he is a werewolf she won’t like him anymore, based on his own past experiences.  Kern feels like an outsider–not accepted by society because he’s not entirely human, but not accepted by wild wolves because of his human nature.  At the inn, he feels like part of a family for the first time in his life.  Meanwhile, the harper continues his pursuit.

The author’s intention with this book was to tell a small story within a high fantasy setting.  I think that he succeeds in doing that, but de Lint’s writing isn’t as polished as in his later novels, especially in the beginning of the book.  His Newford stories are a lot better, but it was interesting to see some of his earlier work.

Categories: Fantasy, Fiction | Tags: , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on ““Wolf Moon” by Charles de Lint

  1. I have been meaning to go back and read some of de Lint’s older books, but I haven’t accomplished that yet. This one sounds interesting for when I do, though.

    • It’s interesting to see how he’s progressed as a writer, but I definitely prefer his later books. The writing is so much better…

  2. I loved Charles de Lint’s “Moonheart”. Never read “Wolf Moon”, but he is such a talented writer.

  3. It is kinda fun to read an author’s earlier works and see how their writing has progressed. I love the cover.

  4. I got this one and read a page or two thinking it wasn’t exactly as his usual work, still I’m looking forward to finally getting to it. I can’t imagine he could write something that is really bad.

    • It’s not bad so much as it takes a chapter or two to get into. It’s less polished than his usual writing, but I was able to overlook the writing once I got into the story, and it got better as it progressed. I think I’m spoiled on his Newford books.

  5. I love the idea of this book, of a sort of sanctuary found within the inn for the main character. I might just have to check it out! I haven’t ready any of de Lint’s work yet, so it sounds like it might be a good one to start with before getting into the later series you mentioned.

    • I hope you like it! Charles de Lint’s usual books tend to be urban fantasy, and I like them because they’re well-written and were instrumental in designing the genre. This one was a bit different, and I still like the newer books better, but at the same time I like the idea of focusing on a single character’s story within a fantasy world instead of a cataclysmic struggle between good and evil.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

