“Flesh and Spirit” by Carol Berg

Carol Berg’s novel “Flesh and Spirit” is the first book of The Lighthouse Duet.  It tells the story of Valen, a young runaway pureblood sorcerer/cartographer, as he finds his place in life amid troubled times.  His story begins when he is injured and his “friend” empties his pockets and dumps him at a monastery.  Valen decides to join the monks, mostly because there’s a famine in Navronne and the monastery appears to have an abundance of food.  There, he learns that the world as he knows it is threatened and that his mysterious past bears the key to saving it.  With the help of a book of maps given to him by his insane grandfather, Valen has the ability to locate sites sacred to the Danae (this story’s equivalent of fairies or angels).  Meanwhile, he is ever plagued by his addiction to nivat, a drug that converts a person’s pain into pleasure.

Berg handles the social status of sorcerers in a unique way.  Because sorcery runs in bloodlines, the breeding status of magicians is carefully restricted so as to preserve the strength of magic.  Sorcerers are treated as glorified slaves/contractors–they’re given a very high social status and live in luxury, but their choices are not their own.  At the same time, they see this as a fair tradeoff, and compare it to the sacrifices that any person must make for their professions, counting themselves luckier than most.  The most shameful thing a sorcerer can do is to run away, and a runaway magician faces a multitude of punishments including increased restriction and public humiliation.  By choosing to run, a Pureblood shows that he cares about himself more than serving the greater interests of Navronne.

Not gonna lie, for the first two hundred or so pages, I thought that Valen was a spoiled entitled brat.  My opinion changed (as evidenced by the fact that I stayed up until the wee hours of last night finishing the book) as Valen began to mature and evolve into a more complex character.  We learn that his own Pureblood family was dysfunctional, giving him some extra justification in his choice to run.  His involvement with the monks’ secret plots to preserve civilization taught him to begin caring about others, and even when he was acting as a spoiled brat he had an incredibly strong sense of honor and placed immense value upon his given word.

Berg’s writing is okay, although during the first two hundred pages I got the feeling that she was trying a bit too hard, and that some of it seemed a bit forced.  That did get better as the book progressed.  My one real complaint is that this book doesn’t end, but rather cuts off abruptly.  Lucky for me, I already have the second book, which I shall be starting immediately!  Buahahahaha!

Categories: Fantasy, Fiction | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on ““Flesh and Spirit” by Carol Berg

  1. Thanks for a recommendation! It sounds like something to put on the list. 🙂 I always wonder how much got “edited” out when the author struggles for the first few chapters and then hits a groove. Did the publisher/editing process take out TOO much trying to get to the good part?

    • You’re welcome! I think that part of the issue here is that the first and second book should be read as one, but were split (presumably to sell better). If they’re read as one book, the first two hundred pages are what would normally be the setup in a fantasy story, and I normally don’t start judging epic fantasy until that setup period is over. In doing reading the first book, I felt like the story wasn’t going very far for a while, but I ended up enjoying the book once I got past that point and liking the second book a lot more.

  2. I have wanted to read Carol Berg forever and not actually done so. It is good to know this book just sort of ends. I will assume that all of her trilogies/series do that and make sure to have the other book handy when I do finally read her!

    • I’d never heard of Carol Berg before I found this duet at the Borders liquidation sales and decided to give it a shot. Thus far, I’m glad that I did.

  3. It’s always irritating when books suddenly end rather than coming to any kind of a conclusion. If you can immediately pick up the sequel it’s not so bad (I think I would have been a little irritated with the second Mistborn novel’s ending if I didn’t already have the third book) but if you have to wait a while for the next book, it’s just a pain and you want to go yell at the author to finish the next book already (someone tell George RR Martin to sit and write already).

    This sounds like it has some potential, I’ll probably wait until you post your thoughts on the second book before I decide to go check them out, I’ve already got an extensive list of books to look for.

    • I do get frustrated when books just don’t end, but especially in this case because each book is only around 500 pages. I think it would be better if they’d be combined into one book… oh well, at least I’m already partway through the second book!

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

