R.I.P. VI Challenge

September is nearly upon us, so I would like to take this time to introduce a reading challenge that I’ll be participating in this fall.  Carl from Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting the sixth annual R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril Challenge, which runs from Sept. 1-Oct. 31.  The challenge involves reading various books/short stories of a spooky, creepy, or mysterious nature, ranging in genre from dark fantasy to horror.  Feel free to join us for the challenge.  It’s going to be a lot of fun!

I haven’t yet decided what books I’m going to read for the challenge (largely because my semester is just beginning and I don’t know how much time I’ll have), but I know for sure that I will be participating in a readalong of Neil Gaiman’s short story collection “Fragile Things,” which will begin in early September.  I would also like to read some of Lovecraft’s Cthulu stories, as I’ve never read Lovecraft before and have heard good things.  If anyone has any suggestions or has their own reading list for the challenge already, let me know–it would be great to get some more ideas!

Categories: Other | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “R.I.P. VI Challenge

  1. I just discovered Lovecraft earlier this year when I listened to an audiobook of his stories. I was amazed! Hope you like it.

    • Yes, Lovecraft is special stuff. There is just something about his work that encapsulates the moody atmosphere and sense of unseen dread that embodies the spirit of this challenge.

  2. Glad to see you are joining in for Fragile Things! I am looking forward to it!

  3. Try to work in some Phil Rickman if you have the time! His books are longer, though. You could always cheat a bit and read Marco’s Pendulum, Rickman’s children’s book written under pen name Thom Madley.

  4. I just started reading Lovecraft when I first started this challenge and I love his stuff. I read a few each year just to make them last. I suspect that after you read the first story in the Fragile Things collection, A Study in Emerald, you are really going to want to read some Lovecraft as it is a mash up of Doyle’s Holmes mythos and Lovecraft’s Cthulu mythos.

    So glad you are joining in with us. I hope you can work in some spooky reading with all the demands that class will put on you.

    • I’m excited for it. I really enjoyed the “Once Upon a Time” challenge this spring, and have been looking forward to this one.

      I love it when books that I read seem to play off of each other. It makes each of them more interesting.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

