“Anya’s Ghost” by Vera Brosgol

I read Carl’s review of this book about a month ago and thought that I’d like to read it.  I found a copy at Barnes & Noble last night, and didn’t leave until I had finished reading it.

The story introduces Anya, a Russian immigrant navigating American high school life.  Anya tries hard to fit in with her peers and get the attention of her crush.  One day, Anya falls into an old well which happens to be haunted by a young ghost named Emily.  When Anya is rescued, Emily tags along and helps her to be more successful in school.  However, Emily isn’t entirely as she might seem.  *dun dun dun dun*

As a disclaimer, I don’t generally read graphic novels, so I don’t have much to compare it to other than the handful of webcomics that I occasionally follow.  That being said, I really enjoyed reading “Anya’s Ghost.”  The artwork was fantastic, and I liked the way that Brosgol portrayed the Russian mother.  It was very accurate.  I also liked the way that she uses Anya’s cigarette as a motif to reflect the way that her attitude changes over time.  Overall, I would recommend this book, especially for someone looking for a good introduction to the world of graphic novels.

Categories: Graphic Novels | Tags: , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on ““Anya’s Ghost” by Vera Brosgol

  1. This sound’s pretty interesting, I’ll have to check it out for sure! I am a graphic novel fiend, and if you want to try your hand at a few of the more “literary” types, here’s some of my favorites:

    Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
    Blankets by Craig Thompson
    V for Vendetta by Alan Moore

    I predict you will enjoy them. And of course there’s Maus by Art Spiegelman, which I’ve never actually read, but everyoen raves about it.

  2. Cool! I haven’t read too many graphic novels either, but it sounds like a good place to start.

    • I liked that this one wasn’t a series, but rather a standalone. I was also pleased that unlike the graphic novels of Japanese origin, this one does read from left to right like a normal book would.

      • It is odd reading a book in a different way from what we grew up with. It would take me a lot of reminders not to fall back to old habits.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

