The Way of Kings Readalong

During the past month, I participated in a readalong of Frank Herbert’s novel “Dune” that I enjoyed tremendously.  It was awesome to be able to have so many interesting conversations with other bloggers about the novel as I read.  Because of this, I decided to participate in another readalong beginning August 1.

The readalong page can be found here.  We will be reading Brandon Sanderson’s epic fantasy novel “The Way of Kings” over the course of six weeks.  Each week we will read one part of the novel.  Questions will be sent out on Fridays, and then we will upload responses on Mondays.  The readalong will run from August 1-September 12.  This will be a longer readalong than “Dune,” as the book is around a thousand pages, but it will be broken down into manageable segments.

As a bit of an introduction, Brandon Sanderson is the author who finished Robert Jordan’s “Wheel of Time” series when Jordan died before his work was complete.  I’ve heard good things about his writing style from friends who read his contributions to the “Wheel of Time.”  “The Way of Kings” is the first part of what Sanderson wants to develop into a ten-book epic fantasy series.

If you would like to join us, leave a comment on the readalong page that I linked above and Deanna will add you to the list!

Categories: Fantasy, Fiction | Tags: , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “The Way of Kings Readalong

  1. I read Mistborn last year, and would really like to participate! But I have so much fantasy on my list right now. Robin Hobb’s Assassin’s Apprentice is calling before I can pick up something else. Enjoy the readalong!

    • How is Robin Hobb? I’ve looked at her novels a few times but haven’t picked one up yet.

  2. tinalinatime

    Thanks for your comment on my blog last week. I see you just reviewed a book by Brandon Sanderson. I did recently too, only it was his middle grades book “Alcatraz versus the Evil Librarians”. I’d be interested to see how his other books are b/c I didn’t really like Alcatraz too much. Thanks again for checking out my blog 🙂

    • tinalinatime

      For somereason it didn’t link to my blog… booktasty.wordpress.com

    • I didn’t know Sanderson wrote middle grades books. The title sounds amusing, as I’m studying to be a librarian.

    • I just finished Alcatraz recently. I’m a huge fan of Sanderson’s adult novels, and while I did enjoy Alcatraz, I can understand why you might not have enjoyed it. If you want to look at his other books, the Mistborn trilogy is a wonderful place to start, if you don’t want to look at a trilogy to start with Warbreaker is a standalone book that is also very good.

  3. It’s a good book, for having 1,000 pages I think I read it in 3 or 4 days. While I certainly enjoy discussing books with other people, I don’t know how much I’d like to stretch a book out for 6 weeks of reading. I read a lot of books and tend to go through them pretty quickly.

    Also, I have to be a bit of a smartass here. Your blog title is Books Without Any Pictures, and The Way of Kings has pictures in it.

    I’ve enjoyed all of Sanderson’s books, and this one is no exception. Hope you enjoy it.

    • Well, my blog is named after a quote by Lewis Carroll.

      “and what is the use of a book,’ thought Alice, ‘without pictures or conversation?”

      During the last readalong I did, I finished the book in the first week, but kept going with the discussions till the end because they were a lot of fun. I may or may not do the same thing during this one.

  4. I can’t wait! I just signed up. I really enjoyed the Dune readalong and I hope this one will be just as much fun!

    • I’m sure it will be!

      • Have you started it? Didn’t you get through Dune during the first week? I’m curious to see how fast you read this one.

        • I haven’t started it yet. I got through Dune pretty quickly because I couldn’t put it down, lol. It mostly depends on how engaging the book is. 😛

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.

