“Rhapsody” by Elizabeth Haydon

I had been meaning to buy this book for a while, and finally did this weekend.  The back cover looked interesting, and I have a weakness for books where music and art play a key role.

I really enjoyed the book once I got past the prologue, which in the case of this book is called an Overture.  The Overture contained one of the most ridiculous sex scenes that I’ve ever read.  Hint:  If both parties are crying the entire time, they’re doing it wrong.

The book tells the story of Rhapsody, a former prostitute turned powerful Singer who is being hunted down by a deranged and perverted former client.  While escaping his henchmen, Rhapsody is rescued by two giants, one of whom she renames in the process.  As names have tremendous power, and Singers have the power of Naming, Rhapsody’s renaming the giant to “Achmed the Snake” freed him from his previous enslavement to the demon F’dor.  The giants kidnap Rhapsody, leading her on an epic journey spanning both time and space, and the Three become a family and a formidable fighting force.

Haydon has a sense of humor that is present throughout the novel.  There were several parts in the story that made me laugh.  Although at times Haydon does follow various fantasy conventions, at others she comes up with some intriguing ideas.

While glancing at some other online reviews, it seems as if many readers thought that Rhapsody was too much of a Mary Sue.  I really didn’t think so, considering that for half the journey she reminded me of a toddler saying, “Are we there yet?”  That, and random episodes of emotionalism made her seem balanced enough as a character.  I preferred Achmed’s standoffish ninja-like character and the warm-hearted giant Gunthor to Rhapsody herself.  Even so, I think that she does make a strong female lead.

This novel is the first in a trilogy.  I plan on continuing to read the next two books, which I purchased last night.  I’m beginning to think that I have a serious book addiction problem.

Categories: Fantasy, Fiction | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on ““Rhapsody” by Elizabeth Haydon

  1. Hi Grace. Thank you for liking that post on my blog. You’re blog looks very interesting, and I feel that I can get some great suggestions on what to read from it.

    “Rhapsody” seems like an interesting book–I’d be particularly interested in learning about how music is involved in this story. I’ll have to look it up!

    • Thank you! The world in the story is such that every living thing emits vibrations of sorts, and Rhapsody’s power comes from being able to heal or otherwise change things through singing to their true essence.

      • That’s pretty fascinating. I compose music from time to time, so I’m aware of how music can be a healing influence.

        Though I haven’t read this book in years, I really enjoyed how divine beings called the Ainur sang the world into existence in Tolkien’s The Silmarillion. Melkor, the source of all evil in Tolkien’s mythology, introduced discord into that first world-building song.

        I wonder what that world-building song would actually sound like!

        • I haven’t read the Silmarillion yet, but there’s a copy sitting on my boyfriend’s desk that I may just have to read now, tehe.

          • Well, it’s a pretty cool book, although the writing style is very elevated and formal, and that puts some people off. And it’s not one narrative but rather a series of stories that paints a picture of the creation of Tolkien’s world.

            My favorite story of the bunch is the tale of Beren and Lúthien. The protagonists sneak into the lair of Morgoth (also known as Melkor), the original big baddie of Middle Earth, to steal a precious jewel known as a Silmaril. Beren and Lúthien also shape-shift, which was neat, and we get to meet Sauron when he was known as “The Lord of Werewolves” and merely a lieutenant to Morgoth.

            Actually, I think that Sauron showed a lot more personality in The Silmarillion than he did in LotR. He was much more calculating and cunning back then rather than simply being a malicious spirit of Evil and throwing hordes of orcs at everything to solve his problems.

            • Sounds interesting. I don’t mind a formal writing style, so it sounds like I’ll enjoy it.

  2. Book addiction…is there such a thing. Or is it love?

  3. there are definitely worse addictions to have. books just make you antisocial. but that’s what the internets for anyway; avoiding people.

    • It doesn’t help that this heat wave makes me want to just sit inside where it is air conditioned and read rather than actually going anywhere, lol.

      • It was 113 earlier this week in South Texas. I can’t wait for this tropical storm to hit and give us some rain. I really like the old cover for the book, but it would be interesting to see what an updated cover would look like.

        • Hello Skye. I’m located in Houston, and this year has been the worst drought that I remember. I’d welcome this tropical storm, but it looks like it’s going to hit to the south.

          Although I’d have to be careful about wishing for a tropical system. I wouldn’t want to go through another storm like Hurricane Ike.

          I hope that Don won’t be too bad. Enjoy the rain and cool off a bit!

          • Thanks for the well wishes Prikasour, I’m from around Corpus Christi, but now the weatherman is saying it will probably hit the Valley more than CC.

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

