“Queen of Camelot” by Nancy McKenzie

I’ve always been a bit of a sucker for Arthurian novels.  Nancy McKenzie’s “Queen of Camelot” was interesting, largely because it doesn’t portray Guinevere as a bitch, but rather more of a victim of circumstance.  At the same time, she is a rather strong character.

McKenzie handled the whole Lancelot love triangle as Guinevere having a crush on him, but remaining faithful to Arthur.  It’s more like she loves them both in different ways.  I did get a bit annoyed with Guinevere when she developed a massive inferiority complex about not being able to have a kid, but she grew out of it eventually.

Normally, Arthurian novels as a whole tend to demonize Guinevere.  This one was unique in its portrayal.  Presenting Guinevere as an admirable character who enjoys horseback riding humanizes her and adds more depth of character, making “Queen of Camelot” stand out among similar books.

Categories: Fantasy, Fiction | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on ““Queen of Camelot” by Nancy McKenzie

  1. I also like Arthurian novels and might also have a look at the one Skye mentions.

  2. I really like reading different portrayals of Arthurian characters.
    Have you read Devil’s Kiss by Sarwat Chadda? It’s about this girl who is the only female member of the Knights Templar and It takes place in Modern London. I’ve been meaning to read it and maybe you’d like it too. It’s a YA book.

  3. Thanks for sharing! Great review! I think I’ll be adding this to my already-too-long to-read list!! 🙂 It sounds quite interesting & different than most books about Guinevere!

Comments make me happy! Please feel free to leave a reply.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.